E-Net News

Elon Law advisory board members recognized for leadership in the law

W. Randy Eaddy, James G. Exum, Jr., James E. Holshouser, and James B. Hunt, all members of the Elon Law School Advisory Board, have been recognized recently through honors and appointments for their leadership in law and public service.

W. Randy Eaddy

W. Randy Eaddy, a partner at Kilpatrick Stockton LLP, was inducted into Furman University’s Political Science Hall of Fame on October 27.

Eaddy, who serves as a trustee for Furman University and the Reynolda House Museum of American Art, and is member of the Board of Directors and Executive Committee for the Metropolitan Atlanta United Way, has been recognized for more than 10 years in The Best Lawyers in America® for Corporate Governance and Compliance Law, Corporate Law and Securities Law.

Eaddy, together with Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP attorney Carole W. Bruce, Buchanan Ingersoll & Rooney PC attorney and shareholder Bassam N. Ibrahim, and London & Mead attorney and author Mark London, joined the Elon Law School Advisory Board in the fall of 2010.

James G. Exum, Jr.

James G. Exum, Jr., former Chief Justice of the North Carolina Supreme Court, attorney with Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP, and Distinguished Jurist in Residence at Elon Law, has been selected to Co-Chair the North Carolina Bar Association’s Judicial Independence Committee and to serve on the IOLTA Board of the North Carolina State Bar.

Exum served on the North Carolina Supreme Court from 1974 to 1994, and was Chief Justice from 1986 to 1994. During his service with the Supreme Court, Exum wrote 402 opinions for the court and 208 concurring or dissenting opinions. As a lawyer, he has participated in more than 40 appeals in state and federal appellate courts. At Elon Law, he teaches courses in evidence, assists in coaching the moot court program, and mentors and advises law students through the school's Leadership Program.

James E. Holshouser

Former North Carolina Governor James E. Holshouser has been selected to lead Nexsen Pruett’s expanded Public Policy and Government Affairs practice in North Carolina.

Holshouser served as Governor of North Carolina from 1973 to 1977, after four terms in the General Assembly, where he was Vice Chairman of the House Judiciary Committee and House Rules Committee. Since leaving public office Holshouser has served in a variety of leadership roles, including special advisor to the Research Triangle Regional Partnership, Board Member or Trustee of the University of North Carolina, Davidson College, and St. Andrews Presbyterian College.

Former North Carolina Governor James B. Hunt was honored on October 26 through the dedication of “The James B. Hunt Jr. Leadership Building”, a $10 million addition to the North Carolina Biotechnology Center.

James B. Hunt

Hunt also received the Woodrow Wilson National Fellowship Foundation’s Frank E. Taplin Public Intellectual Award on October 13, for his extraordinary contributions to public cultural and intellectual life. Hunt is the longest serving governor in North Carolina state history and the only governor to have served four terms in the state.

Members of the Law School Advisory Board include three former chief justices of the Supreme Court of North Carolina, two former governors of the state, and a number of nationally recognized lawyers, business leaders, and scholars, including David Gergen, former adviser to four United States presidents and Director of the Center for Public Leadership and Professor of Public Service at the Harvard Kennedy School, who serves as chair of the advisory board.

Click here for a complete list of Law School Advisory Board members.

Philip Craft,
1/25/2011 4:48 PM