E-Net News

Music technology alumnus release new EP

Music technology alumnus Frank Hurd '12 has released his debut solo EP "Pressed for Time" on iTunes this week and it climbed to #11 on the iTunes Bestseller list for top singer/songwriter albums in one day.

Album Cover, "Pressed for Time"

Hurd's EP consists of seven original songs produced, recorded, mixed and performed by students and faculty in the Elon University Music Department. In addition to Hurd's songwriting credits and performances on lead vocals, harmony vocals, acoustic guitar, and keyboards, major contributions to the album by Elon students and faculty include:

Michael Lobacz '10 - music technology - guitar, bass guitar
Jacob Danieley '11 - music technology - guitar, piano
Ben Soldate '13 - music technology - bass guitar, recording & mix engineer
John Mullen '13 - music education - drums
Jake Valente '15 - economics - drums
Todd Coleman (faculty) - bass guitar
Stephen Futrell (faculty) - trumpet
Matthew Buckmaster (faculty) - trombone
Clay Stevenson (faculty) - mix engineer, organ & string arranging

Assistant engineers and studio technicians included Emily Phillips '13 (music technology), Bobby Watts '13 (music technology), Andrew Hopun '13 (music technology) and Brooke Jenkins '15 (music technology).

Music faculty said that "Pressed for Time" shows Hurd's growth as an artist, songwriter, producer, and arranger during his years at Elon as well as the fruits of real-world creative collaborations taking place in the music technology program and department of music. 

Frank Hurd
Todd Coleman,
9/21/2012 8:47 AM