Elon hosts scholarship dinner to honor donors and students

More than 225 people attended the annual Scholarship Dinner on April 11. The event honored scholarship donors and recipients, giving students who have received financial assistance the opportunity to meet and thank the donors who created their scholarships.

Trustee Allen Gant Jr., who has endowed the Allen Erwin Gant Scholarship and the Glen Raven Mills Educational Award Scholarship, delivered the welcome. Student remarks were delivered by Marissa Morris-Jones ’06, recipient of the Al and Ruby West Scholarship and the Katherine duPont Weymouth Scholarship.

President Leo M. Lambert also spoke at the dinner, and two students provided musical entertainment: Robert Marnell ’06, recipient of the Wayne H. and Mable B. Perrine Scholarship, and Perry Medlin ’06, recipient of the Lohr-Myers Music Theatre Endowed Scholarship, the Wayne H. and Mable B. Perrine Scholarship and the John F. Youngblood Endowed Scholarship.