Rawls Student Scholars announced

The Undergraduate Research Program Advisory Committee (URPAC) has selected the 2006-07 recipients of the Rawls Scholarships/Grants. These prestigious honors are given to the top research students each year, and are awarded through a competitive process. Details...

Students and their mentors prepare an application package that includes a research project proposal, student and mentor credentials, and a mentor letter of recommendation/support. While the criteria for selection are given in the application materials (available at http://org.elon.edu/urp/Dreamweaver/RAWLS.htm), the most basic criterion is that Rawls students should be models for excellence in undergraduate research in a given applicants discipline.

The URPAC notes that this year’s applicant pool was the strongest ever, and each applicant is to be commended for her/his dedication to scholarship in her/his own discipline.

The Rawls Scholarships/Grants are provided for by an endowment given by the late Virginia Riddick Rawls in memory of her late husband, Dr. Japheth E. Rawls, and in honor of his siblings. Dr. Rawls was a 1935 graduate of Elon College, and a life-long supporter of the institution, serving on the Board of Trustees for almost 50 years. As many as seven awards can be given each year.

The URPAC is pleased to announce the 2006-07 recipients and their mentors:

Ashley Black, chemistry

Parker Award

Mentor: Lisa Ponton

“Analysis of NC River and Wastewater Effluent Samples for the Presence of Reproductive Hormones by SPE and HPLC”

Kyle Cooper, health and human performance

Newman Award

Mentor: Paul Miller

“Effects of Visual and Auditory Distractions on Exercise Performance and Affect”

Sarah Cox, English/art

Bentley Award

Mentor: Brooke Barnett

“At the Left Hand of God”

Michael Koslow, economics

Harvey P. Rawls Award

Mentors: Jennifer Platania and Stephen DeLoach

“The Macroeconomic Effects of the “Medical Notch” in the U.S. Health Insurance System”

Geoffrey Lynn, chemistry

Charles H. Rawls Award

Mentor: Joel Karty

“Novel Spectroscopic Techniques in Elucidating the Mechanism for Pattern Formation in Periodic Precipitation Reactions”

Jennifer Vanyur, human services

Saecker Award

Mentor: Cindy Fair

“Sexual Coercion, Verbal Aggression, and Condom Use Consistency Among College Student’s Intimate Relationships”

Jessica Young, psychology

Bullard Award

Mentor: Maureen Vandermaas-Peeler

“The Cultural and Familial Influences on Personal Narratives in Adolescence”