Political science students honored by North Carolina Student Legislature

Jenn Batchelor and Bobby Chamberlain were award recipients at the annual session of the North Carolina Student Legislature held in Raleigh, N.C., from April 10-13.  Batchelor was named  President of the Year for her work with the Elon University delegation and received the annual scholarship given to the outstanding member in the state-wide organization.  She was also elected lieutenant governor for the next academic year.
Chamberlain was awarded the Delegate of the Year award for his contribution to the state-wide NCSL, including public policy debate and service as attorney general.  Clark Riemer won the Alumnus of the Year Award.
The North Carolina State Legislature promotes public policy debate on issues of interest to North Carolina and is the oldest model state legislature in the country, finishing its 71st year this May.

– Information submitted by professor Chalmers Brumbaugh