President Lambert welcomes new Elon Law Alumni Association

At the President's Reception for charter class members of Elon University School of Law, held May 14, the newly formed Elon Law Alumni Association was welcomed into the university's alumni family.

At the event, President Lambert congratulated all members of the charter class for their achievements while at Elon Law, saying, “You have shaped the character of the law school and established a tradition of excellence that will benefit future classes for years to come. Largely as a result of what you have done in creating a culture of engaged learning, community service, and public leadership, I can already see that Elon University School of Law is going to make significant impacts on legal education across the country.”

Associate Dean for Development Eugenia Leggett congratulated the class for forming its alumni association so quickly and establishing its leadership and inaugural council members.

Dean George R. Johnson, Jr, on behalf of the 2009 Nominating Committee, presented the names of the inaugural Elon Law Alumni Council, saying, “All members of the charter class have been pioneers, taking on the mantle of responsibility and leadership required for this first-ever class of Elon Law, and doing so with truly remarkable determination and enthusiasm.”

The inaugural members of the Elon Law Alumni Council are:

Charter class member Seema Shah is joined by her brother Samar Shah, with Dean George Johnson and his wife, Linda Morris.

Andrew Ackley
Jason Aycoth
Danielle Caldwell
Michele Cybulski
Danny Donovan
Damon Duncan
Melissa Duncan
Andrea Harrell
Alix Hazel
Amy Holthouser
Eric Meredith
Erin O’Connell
Shannon O’Donnell
Mital Patel
Leslie Price
Sarah Robinson
Seema Shah
Megan Silver
Barron Thompson

The officers of the Elon Law Alumni Association are:
President: Melissa Duncan
President- Elect: Michele Cybulski
Secretary: Megan Silver
Treasurer: Mital Patel

Commencement exercises for the charter class of Elon University School of Law are scheduled for May 24.

From left, Damon and Melissa Duncan, Distinguished Jurist in Residence James Exum, Melissa Jordan and Nichele Harrison

Click here for perspectives from members of the charter class on leadership, service, and the culture and program of study at Elon University School of Law.

President and Mrs. Leo M. Lambert with charter class members Megan Silver and Leslie Price
Mr. and Mrs. Andrew Ackley, Michele Cybulski, and Melanie Crenshaw
Elon Law professors Scott Gaylord and Steve Friedland with Amy Eason and Shannon O'Donnell