Love School of Business students inducted into Beta Gamma Sigma

Thirty-five undergraduate and MBA students were inducted into the Elon University chapter of the Beta Gamma Sigma business honor society in a May 10 ceremony in the LaRose Digital Theatre.

Membership in Beta Gamma Sigma is the highest recognition a business student may achieve in a baccalaureate or graduate program at a school accredited by AACSB International.

The chapter honoree and guest speaker was Elon alumna and Beta Gamma Sigma member Bernadette Spong ’78 G’07, who currently serves as the senior vice president of finance for Rex Healthcare. Spong is a member of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business Board of Advisors and parent of two Elon graduates.

Spong’s address to the initiates focused on three principles for success: finding true north, using your moral compass and embodying servant leadership.

“True north” to Spong means having clarity and direction in life. She advised the students to find this by asking themselves what their beliefs are and what they want their legacy to be.

The second area Spong discussed was utilizing a moral compass to help define one’s values. She noted that great leaders act with integrity, responsibility, compassion and forgiveness.

Lastly, Spong spoke about demonstrating servant leadership, which involves being a great listener, having empathy and making sacrifices for the greater good.

The 2011 inductees are:

Joshua Hill Bolton
Allison Nicole Brewer
David Jordan Brown
Olivia Kathryn Buck
Nicole Hope Cartwright
Megan Patricia Collins
Alexis Jade Deprey
Jacqueline Jean Evans
Molly Elizabeth Frowine
Lydia Kathryn Gale
Jane Victoria Kolodkin
Tina Louise Lanciotti
Jordan Andrew Neuhauser
Christopher Michael Sainz
Caroline Anne Scalici
Anthony Michael Schifano
Noah Tear Sohne
Brielle Morgan Sydor
Justin Lynn Wanner
Elizabeth Suzanne White
Alexander Roland Zito-Wolf

Charles Anthony Costa
Katherine Barrett Frisch
Stephen Charles Jones
Allison Christine Norell
Samantha Elise Satzger
Eric Jordan Zelenkofske

Martin Clay Blevins
Joshua Shawn Daniel
Deborah Karen John
Brian Keith Jones
Michael Adam Levy
Kelly Wilson Lucas
Blair McLeod McCauley
Jonathan Michael Thill

Second Recognition
Peter Jason Sanders

Sam Upton and Nicole Cartwright were announced as chapter vice presidents for the upcoming year. Jennifer Kirts is the outgoing vice president.