Jeff Clark elected chair of Southeastern Section of the Mathematical Assocation of America

The professor of mathematics was elected at the annual meeting of the section at its business meeting on March 26.

Jeff Clark, a professor in the Department of Mathematics and Statistics, was elected as the next chair of the Southeastern Section of the Mathematical Association of America. He will serve one year as chair-elect, then a two-year term as chair, followed by a one-year term as past-chair.

Clark has been a member of the Mathematical Association of America since 1978 and of the Southeastern Section since starting at Elon in 1988.  He has served ten years on the Section’s Executive Committee (three as state direction for North Carolina and seven as Section webmaster) and serves on the MAA’s national Committee on Minicourses. 

The Southeastern Section is one of the largest of the 29 sections of the MAA, and consists of Alabama, Georgia, North Carolina, South Carolina, and Tennessee.