Theatrical Design & Technology Students Win Awards

Four Theatrical Design and Technology Students win awards at the 2020 Southeastern Theatre Conference in Louisville, Kentucky, on Feb. 28, 2020.

Four Elon theatrical design and technology students presented their work at the Southeastern Theatre Conference held Feb. 26 through March 1 in Louisville, Kentucky.

SETC is the largest regional theatre conference in the United States. This conference hosts a Design Competition that provides an opportunity for undergraduate and graduate student designers from more than 80 participating universities to have their work adjudicated by industry professionals and Broadway designers. This year’s competition had a total of 134 entries across all disciplines.

Sydney Dye, Tamir Eplan-Frankel, Avery Hunt and Gwendolyn Rygg presented recent work. All four theatrical design and technology students were called back for adjudication to defend their designs in a very competitive peer review setting. Dye won first place for her projection design for “We Will Rock You.” Eplan-Frankel won third place for his sound design for Elon’s production of “Bent.” Hunt won second place for their technical direction for Elon’s production of “Bent.”

Please join us in congratulating these students on their outstanding work and representing Elon University Department of Performing Arts. This is a very competitive event and winning these awards is a great accomplishment considering these categories are open to both Graduate and Undergraduate students from across our region.