Omicron Delta Epsilon honor society inducts new members

Twelve Martha and Spencer Love School of Business students joined the international honor organization for economics.

The Department of Economics in the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business welcomed 12 students into the North Carolina Pi chapter of the Omicron Delta Epsilon (ODE) International Honors Society.

Headshots of ODE's new members
Twelve students join Elon’s chapter of Omicron Delta Epsilon.

ODE is one of the world’s largest academic honor societies, currently with 696 chapters worldwide. It recognizes students’ scholastic accomplishments and outstanding achievements in the field of economics. The honor society also works to establish closer ties between students and faculty in economics.

Colleen Judge ’20 and Assistant Professor of Economics Brandon Sheridan serve as Elon’s ODE chapter president and faculty advisor, respectively.

The induction ceremony, planned for April 16, was not held due to the university’s shift to remote learning in response of the COVID-19 outbreak. The new members will receive their certificates in the mail. Those who are on campus next spring are invited to attend the 2021 induction ceremony.

“While there may not be an event to celebrate ODE on campus this year, I hope all members recognize their hard work and celebrate this great accomplishment,” Judge said. “I challenge all members to continue to find ways to expand their knowledge and passion for economics.”

Elon ODE membership requires students complete at least 12 credit hours in economics courses, attain a GPA of at least 3.25 overall and in economics courses, and make the study of economics an integral part of their studies.

2020 Omicron Delta Epsilon Inductees

  • Patrick Blake
  • Justin Davisson
  • Nathaniel Forker
  • Natalie Ivanov
  • Brandon Mack
  • Caroline McGimsey
  • Maria Mendoza
  • Morgan Rafferty
  • Kaylee Riemann
  • Grace Stewart
  • Ashley Tanchak
  • Zachary Wallat