Omicron Delta Epsilon recognizes achievements in economics

Elon’s chapter of the economics honor society inducted two dozen students during a spring ceremony.

Elon’s North Carolina Pi chapter of the Omicron Delta Epsilon (ODE) international honor society for economics inducted two dozen students in an April 28 ceremony.

group of students smlingThe honor society recognizes outstanding achievements in economics, promotes the establishment of closer ties between students and faculty in economics, publishes “The American Economist,” and sponsors panels at professional meetings as well as the ODE Graduate Research and Undergraduate Research Award competitions.

Membership for Elon’s chapter requires students complete at least 16 semester hours of economics courses, attain a GPA of at least 3.25 overall and in economics courses, and make the study of economics an integral part of their studies.

Chapter president Maria Mendoza ’22 led the induction ceremony with members of the Department of Economics in attendance, including the chapter’s advisor, Assistant Professor Brandon Sheridan.

Associate Professor Katy Rouse delivered the keynote address, speaking on the benefits of economics and the wide range of opportunities available with a degree in the field.

The Spring 2022 inductees:

  • Martin Adams
  • Avery Alley
  • Christopher Boyette
  • Payton Casarico
  • Riley Corvin
  • Tate Dahlgren
  • Ava de Bruin
  • Sophia Dimidis
  • Nicole Dischinger
  • James Folds
  • Annica Gaebel
  • Kyle Hensler
  • Nicole Iervolino
  • Mitchell Kalogeros
  • Thomas Mataconis
  • Dylan Matthes
  • Mercer van Meel
  • Anjali Mehra
  • Ally Shearon
  • Hannah Southern
  • Katie Sturtevant
  • Aubrey Tulp
  • Michael Walsh
  • Amelia Ward