Project Management majors earn Project Management Institute CAPM certification

The certification requires a combination of academic coursework in project management and the successful completion of a rigorous three-hour, 150-question certification exam.

Students in the capstone Project Management Seminar (MGT 4300) completed certification testing to earn the Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) designation in May 2022.

The seminar and certification are the culminating experiences in the Project Management major offered by the Department of Management and Entrepreneurship in the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business. Forty-nine students successfully completed the certification process and earned their CAPM credential.

The Project Management Institute is the world’s leading project management organization with almost 700,000 global members. The CAPM credential is a widely-recognized certification in the project management field and Elon project management graduates have gone on to pursue advanced degrees and advanced PM certifications. Elon graduates have also led high-value projects and large project teams.

The following describes the Elon experiences of some of our recent CAPM certification holders:

Megan Sassaman, CAPM will graduate with a bachelor of science in business administration (double major in project management and entrepreneurship). Sassaman interned with PepsiCo and Southern Foodways. She also completed a Diploma in Construction Management at North Carolina State University in February 2022 and will start her new position as a project engineer with Clark Construction this summer.

Leo Johnson, CAPM will graduate in May 2022 with a bachelor of science in business administration (major in project management). He interned with Jet-Hot High-Performance Coatings and was a lease fleet manager with The Boat Locker.  Johnson will start his new position following graduation as a business development manager at MarineMax in Charlotte.

Patrick Brundidge, CAPM will graduate in May 2022 with a Bachelor of Science in Business Administration (major in Project Management). Brundidge will also be commissioned as a 2nd Lieutenant in the United States Army the day before graduation. He will serve as an infantry officer.

Kristine Strazdite, CAPM is an international student-athlete from Latvia and member of Elon’s track and field team who will graduate in May 2022 with a bachelor of science in business administration (major in project management). Strazdite was a frequent honoree on the Dean’s and President’s lists for Academic Achievement at Elon University.

Jessica Anderson, CAPM is a student-athlete on Elon’s track and field team . Anderson will graduate in May 2022 with a bachelor of science in business administration (major in project management). Anderson interned with ALKU and studied abroad at University College Dublin. She was named the winner of the Student Achievement in Project Management Award and will graduate with a 3.9 GPA. Following graduation, she will pursue her master’s of science in business analytics at the University of Massachusetts Amherst while continuing her athletic career as a pole vaulter for the Minutemen.

These are just some of the 49 new certified project managers who will graduate from Elon University this May. The following list includes all of the recent CAPM holders:

Anderson, Jessica S.
Barbera, Joe
Borg, Jarrad B.
Bowline, Gray S.
Brundidge, Patrick D.
Carpenter, Janae J.
Chnupa, Adam H.
Cronin, Nikki
Cudd, Matthew T.
Daugherty, Ben
Daughtry, Bryson M.
Dickerson, Joe
Durbin, Audrey P.
Duval, Mason C.
Eliasson, Sam
Ervin, Zac
Feldmann, Bella
Folds, James D.
Frodigh, Will
Gilbert, Zane B.
Goodman, Margot O.
Grightmire, Tyler A.
Hattersley, Jake T.
Johnson, Leo
Jones, Avery
Keenan, Luke
Krulak, Chloe V.
Lewis, Jordan R.
Liotta, Sam
MacLeod, Duncan R.
McDermott, Connor C.
McNeil, Lindsey E.
Ostria, Jacob N.
Russo, Victoria
Rutsky, Haille N.
Sassaman, Megan E.
Sher, Dan
Smith, Palmer A.
Stomberger, Zach
Strazdite, Kristine
Street, Abby
Sykes, Stuart C.
Turner, Noah J.
Vidmar, Marley L.
Wanner, Gabriela M.
Warren, Seth
Whalen, Connor E.
Wilkins, Ryan D.
Yeo, Mason E.