Elon University hosting the CAA Women’s Tennis Championship this week

The courts at Jimmy Powell Tennis Center will see matches between the top players from schools across the Coastal Athletic Association on Thursday, April 25, through Sunday, April 28.

The courts at Jimmy Powell Tennis Center will see play from the top women’s tennis players from across the Coastal Athletic Association this week as Elon University hosts the conference championship April 25-28.

Admission is free to all matches at the CAA Women’s Tennis Championship.

Elon’s women’s tennis team begins play in the CAA tournament at 10 a.m. Thursday as the No. 5 seed when it takes on No. 12 Monmouth University. Elon enters the tournament with a 13-9 record on the season.

There are four quarterfinal contests on Friday. At 10 a.m., top-seeded Delaware (18-6) meets Thursday’s Hampton/Hofstra winner and No. 4 Drexel (11-7) takes on the winner of Elon’s match. At 2 p.m. No. 2 William & Mary (15-5) challenges the Campbell/Towson winner and No. 3 Charleston (17-4) faces the UNCW/Stony Brook winner.

The winners advance to Saturday’s semifinals, which will be held at 10 a.m. and 2 p.m. The championship match will be played at 2 p.m. on Sunday, with an automatic berth to the NCAA Women’s Tennis Championship on the line.

To stay up to date with what is happening with the tournament, follow the CAA on Twitter (@CAASports), Instagram (@caasports) and join the conversation using the hashtag #CAAChamps. For live results, recaps, highlights and more, visit CAASports.com/wtennis.

Keep up with the Phoenix on Twitter at @ElonWTennis and @ElonPhoenix.

This is the sixth time the Phoenix has hosted the CAA women’s tennis tournament, which this year will include 13 teams for the first time with the addition of Campbell University to the conference. Elon last hosted the tournament in 2022, a year that saw the Phoenix reach the championship match for the first time.

Elon has been a popular stop for the championship tournament, with Jimmy Powell Tennis Center hosting five of the last seven CAA women’s tennis championships.