Elon has modified the normal calendar for fall semester 2020. The goal is to reduce travel to and from campus and avoid bringing large crowds for major events, lowering the chance of exposing the campus community to outside sources of viral infection.

End of Semester & Exams

In-person instruction will end prior to Thanksgiving, with the last class day on Monday, Nov. 23, and Tuesday, Nov. 24, serving as Reading Day. Final exam period begins remotely on Monday, Nov. 30 and semester ends Friday, Dec. 4.

November

23

November

24

November

30

December

4

Winter Term & Spring Semester

Winter Term’s schedule has been adjusted for 2021, with undergraduate classes beginning Wednesday, Jan. 13, and concluding with exams on Wednesday, Feb. 3. The undergraduate Spring Semester will start on Monday, Feb. 8, with classes concluding on May 11, Reading Day on May 12, exams on May 13-19 and Commencement tentatively scheduled for Friday, May 21 (form not yet determined).

Classes for Elon University School of Law and the School of Health Sciences will begin on January 4.

January

13

February

3

february

8

may

13-19

The traditional extended Spring Break will be replaced by several shorter breaks, with no classes held on:

  • Tuesday, February 23
  • Tuesday-Wednesday, March 16-17
  • Monday, April 5
  • Wednesday, April 21

Plans are being developed for a May Term (aka a warmer Winter Term), if conditions allow. Students who had previously planned to study abroad in January may be able to enroll in an international study experience at the end of May and into early June.