E-Net News

Elon Law moot court team excels at North Carolina competition

Haley Lohr and Cody Jones from the Class of 2019 finished in the "elite eight" at the J. Braxton Craven, Jr. Memorial Moot Court Competition hosted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Cody Jones and Haley Lohr

Two Elon Law students delivered a strong performance in January at an annual competition hosted by the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill.

Haley Lohr and Cody Jones advanced to the quarterfinals of the J. Braxton Craven, Jr. Memorial Moot Court Competition, arguing four times and surviving two cuts of the competition field during the Jan. 24-26 program.

"Haley and Cody practiced for weeks to prepare for the competition, and it paid off with excellent performances in the oral argument rounds," said Senior Associate Dean Alan Woodlief, director of the Elon Law Moot Court Program and the team’s coach. "I look forward to working with them and their colleagues in future competitions and building on this success." 

A team from the University of Maine School of Law took the competition’s top honors while winning best brief and top oral advocate awards. Other law schools competing included the University of Michigan Law School, the University of Virginia School of Law, Boston College Law School, North Carolina Central University School of Law, Brooklyn Law School, and Howard University School of Law.

Over the coming weeks, other members of the Elon Law Moot Court Board will compete at the William B. Spong Moot Court Tournament at William & Mary Law School, the William E. McGee National Civil Rights Moot Court Competition at Mitchell Hamline School of Law, the Charleston Moot Court Competition at Charleston School of Law, and the ABA National Appellate Advocacy Competition in Washington, D.C.

The Board will also host its annual Elon Law Intramural Moot Court Competition in May, as well as the 10th Billings, Exum & Frye National Moot Court Competition in October.

Learn more here about the accomplishments of Elon Law’s student moot court board.


Eric Townsend,
2/5/2019 9:15 AM