E-Net News

Department of Physics hosts conference with faculty presenting

The Department of Physics hosted a joint meeting April 16-17, 2010, of the North Carolina Section of the American Association of Physics Teachers and Zone 5 of the Society of Physics Students. More than 114 physics professors, high school teachers and students from the Carolinas attended.

Student posters featured research, public outreach, and physics pedagogy.

The joint conference featured two notable keynote addresses.

On Friday evening, 2002 Nobel laureate Wolfgang Ketterle described his discovery of a new state of matter, the Bose-Einstein condensate. On Saturday, Arthur Eisenkraft, winner of the 2009 Millikan Award for physics education, gave a speech encouraging educators to make physics accessible to all.

This conference piloted a new format for the NCS-AAPT meetings with heavy emphasis on workshops and student posters. Elon University faculty presented one of these workshops, showing participants how to assemble and use a "Galileoscope" telescope.

Elon physics majors Matthew Marcum, Daniel Glass, and Aaron Summers also presented posters on their research and outreach programs.

Students learned what they could do with their physics degrees at the graduate school and jobs panels.
Tony Crider,
4/19/2010 10:09 AM