E-Net News

Journalism students win scholarships from RTDNA

Two Elon University Broadcast Journalism students were awarded scholarships from the Radio Television Digital News Association this month.

Jacquelyn Adams (left) and Monica Yantosh (right) were both honored with scholarships from RTDNA.

Junior Monica Yantosh won the 2010 Presidents Scholarship, which awards a $1,000 award given in honor of nine former RTDNA presidents. Yantosh has been a part of Phoenix14News, Elon’s award-winning weekly newscast, since her freshman year. She’s served as reporter, anchor and producer. She interned with the Investigators Unit at NBC10 in Philadelphia last summer.

Jacquelyn Adams won the 2010 Lou and Carole Prato Sports Reporting Scholarship, which awards a $1,000 tuition grant to a student planning on a career in sports reporting. The scholarship honors former RTDNA treasurer Lou Prato and his wife, Carole.

Adams has also been part of the Phoenix14 staff since her freshman year. In that time, she has reported both news and sports. Last year, she worked as the co-sports anchor and producer.

Colin Donohue,
12/16/2010 12:39 PM