E-Net News

Preceptors recognized at Reception with the Legal Community

Concluding Elon Law's year-long series of Receptions with the Legal Community on April 14, Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Catherine Dunham expressed appreciation to 53 lawyers who mentor law students through the school's Preceptor Program. Eloise Hassell received the Preceptor Outstanding Service to Students award from the Student Bar Association.

Tiffany D. Atkins '11, left, presents Eloise McCain Hassell with the SBA's Preceptor Outstanding Service to Students award

Tiffany D. Atkins ’11 presented the Student Bar Association’s Preceptor Outstanding Service to Students award to Eloise McCain Hassell, who has been a preceptor at Elon Law since 2009. Atkins said that Hassell was chosen for the award because of her commitment to the law school and its students, as well as her dedication to the Preceptor Program.

“When thinking of which person should win the inaugural Preceptor Outstanding Service to Students Award, it was clear to me and the other members of the selection committee that Eloise Hassell was our clear winner,” Atkins said. “Her dedication to students, her passion for supporting Greensboro's legal community, and her long-standing commitment to the Preceptor Program made her a perfect fit.”

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Catherine Dunham recognized the contributions of all Preceptors in remarks at the reception.

Associate Dean for Academic Affairs Catherine Dunham recognizes Preceptors at the Elon Law's April Reception with the Legal Community

“All of the Preceptors who have worked with students throughout the year, we give you our special thanks,” Dunham said. “That is a tremendous gift of time and it makes a tremendous difference to the students.”

The following fifty-three practicing attorneys have served as mentors and coaches to students at the law school through Elon's Preceptor Program this year:

Carole Albright Phyllis Lile-King
Darren Allen Adam Marshall
Louis C. Allen Michael T. Marshall
Stephanie Anderson Larry I. Moore
Jason Aycoth Jennifer Noble
Jeffrey Berman Sean Olson
Steven Bimbo John Paschal
Deborah Bowers Abigail Peoples
Brenton Boyce Marsh Prause
Lisa Bradley Heather Quinn
Margaret Chase Sarah H. Roane
Melanie Crenshaw Lewis Rowell
Mark Cummings Stephen M. Russell
Jeffrey M. Davis Karen McKeithen Schaede
J. Ray Deal Gerald S. Schafer
Daniel L. Donovan Frederick Sharpless
Orren Falk Kerri Sigler
Richard W. Gabriel Andrew Spainhour
Scott C. Gayle Karol Sparks
Angela Gray Jason Sparrow
Fred T. Hamlet Stanley F. Speckhard
Eloise McCain Hassell Lawrence R. Stoehr
Thomas Johnson Jonathan Wall
Joseph M. Kahn Robyn Whitman
Kenneth R. Keller Enyonam Kpeglo Williams
Jennifer Adams Ledford Susan Young
Michelle Adams Ledford  

 Click here for details and a video report about Elon Law's Preceptor Program.

Philip Craft,
4/27/2011 1:48 PM