E-Net News

Love School of Business establishes chapter of honorary management fraternity

Twenty-four students were initiated into Elon’s newly formed chapter of Sigma Iota Epsilon at a November 10 ceremony in LaRose Digital Theatre.

2011 Sigma Iota Epsilon initiates

Sigma Iota Epsilon (SIE) is the premiere fraternal organization in management in the U.S. Individuals elected to membership demonstrate superior scholarship in the classroom. As a fraternity, chapters across the country conduct numerous programs aimed at bridging the gap between management theory and management practices.

During the ceremony, SIE National Executive Board member Art Rasher, spoke about the history of SIE and presented Haya Ajjan, faculty advisor and assistant professor of management information systems, and Scott Buechler, interim dean of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business, with the chapter’s charter.

Jack Lindley, CEO of Industrial Paper Products, Inc.

Industrial Paper Products CEO Jack R. Lindley ’56 P’83 served as the keynote speaker. Lindley received Elon’s Frank S. Holt, Jr. Business Leadership Award in 2000 and was named Alamance County’s Man of the Year in 2004.

Lindley shared stories about developing his entrepreneurial spirit growing up and ethical situations he found himself in during the early part of his career. He gave advice on how to be a successful businessperson.

Lindley concluded his speech by issuing the following challenge: “Go forward, be good, be fair and honest, be truthful and give back to fellow man and the community.”

The 2011 initiates are:

L to R: Kelly Smith, Alyssa Fonseca, Dr. Art Rasher, Dr. Haya Ajjan, Dr. Scott Buechler, Dot Lindley, Jack Lindley, Elizabeth White and Gabby Tan.

Gregory Centini
Alyssa Fonseca (vice-president)
Katharine Franklin
Maritza Gamboa
Eric Gesimondo
Caroline Graves
Garrett Green
Lauren Hansen
Ali Hojnacki
Tessa Jones
Eli Kaufman
Mark Moon
Joseph Naso
Geoffrey Rehnert
Samantha Satzger
Kelly Smith (president)
Lindsey Smith
Gabby Tan (treasurer)
Danielle White
Elizabeth White (secretary)

Robert Daniels
Sivabrata Das
Fred Hathaway
Hunter Metz

Nicole Filippo,
11/15/2011 9:01 AM