E-Net News

Team Innov8 named winner of 2012 Elon Innovation Challenge

Team Innov8 was crowned the 2012 Elon Innovation Challenge winner on Nov. 15, winning $400 to go towards their charity, the Hurricane Sandy Relief Fund.

Winner of the 2012 Elon Innovation Challenge, Team Innov8.

The annual Elon Innovation Challenge is a fast-paced competition that challenges student teams on their creativity to add value using an everyday item, which was a cardboard box this year. Teams made short videos showcasing their creation.

Team Innov8 members include Pete D’Abrosca ‘14, Connor Bouthot ‘15, Lee Hopcraft ‘14, Ricky Rosati ‘14, and Carling Andrews ‘14.

Second place was awarded to The Pride Team of Elizabeth Greenberg ‘14, Megan Guido ‘14, Chris Loblundo ‘14, and Nick Sissine ‘13 whose $200 dollar prize went to the Dana Farber Cancer Institute.

The competition, which aims to express that “entrepreneurship is about leveraging sources and taking action with the goal of creating value,” was organized and run by the Doherty Scholars including Danielle Kingberg ‘14, Elizabeth Greenberg ‘14, Alex Lake ‘13 and Oliver Goddu ‘13 with support from SEED and the Doherty Center for Entrepreneurial Leadership.

Each participating team selected a charity to receive a financial contribution if their video was one of the winning ones. The top prizes of $400 and $200 went to the charities of the top teams voted on by the judges. The audience was able to vote on three videos to win audience driven gift prizes. Starbucks gift certificates were awarded to several other teams who won in the popular vote categories.

You can follow the links below to see Team Innov8’s winning video as well as all of the other winning entries.

Link to Winning Entry

Links to all the winning entries can be found on the Doherty Center Facebook Page


Alyssa Baxter,
11/26/2012 3:19 PM