E-Net News

Beta Gamma Sigma inducts 41 new members 

The Elon University chapter of the international business honor society Beta Gamma Sigma inducted 41 members during a May 1 ceremony. 

Dean Raghu Tadepalli, Chelsea Helms '13 and Brian Sharnsky '13 present Dr. Neeraj Gupta with the BGS Professor of the Year Award.

Paul Fiorelli, professor of legal studies and co-director of the Cintas Institute for Business Ethics at Xavier University, served as keynote speaker for the Beta Gamma Sigma induction ceremony on May 1.Forty one students were inducted into the honor society.

In his presentation, titled "The Value of Values: Why We Should Care about Ethics," Fiorelli discussed the importance of reputation, slippery slopes, gray areas and developing a values-based career.

This year’s Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year award was presented to Neeraj Gupta, assistant professor of finance. Current BGS members select the recipient based on the following criteria: encourages and honors high academic achievement by students of business and management; fosters in students an enduring commitment to the founding principles and values of the Society: honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom, and earnestness; and supports the advancement of business thought and practice to encourage lifelong learning. ​

2013 Beta Gamma Sigma inductees

Gupta received a doctorate in finance from the University of Connecticut, an MBA from Babson College and a bachelor’s degree in engineering from the University of Delhi. He has more than 10 years of finance experience in Asia, Europe, North America and South America, and has taught various finance courses covering the principles of finance, corporate finance and investments to undergraduate and MBA students at both Elon and the University of Connecticut. He has led study abroad business courses to the Pacific Rim and the Indo-Gulf (India and Dubai).

His research interests are in investments, corporate finance, financial planning and international finance with ongoing research in sustainable investing, designing efficient retirement portfolios, valuing intangible investments, fund-flows and returns in emerging markets, and valuing long-dated options.

During the ceremony led by Raghu Tadepalli, dean of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business and BGS advisor, the inductees pledged to maintain and uphold the ideals and principles of BGS—honor, wisdom and earnestness.​

The 2013 inductees are:


  • Jeff Taylor Baldetti
  • Welsford Scott Bishopric
  • Erik Bohle
  • Nancy Chen
  • Connor R. Clark
  • Aubrey Nicole Crawley
  • Kaitlin Christina Fan
  • Elizabeth Ann Guilaume
  • Mary Talbott Johnson
  • Melissa Elizabeth Kenealy
  • Sarah Elizabether Kleckner
  • Andrew Coulston Lynch
  • Nana Abena Pokua Mensah
  • Elin Ann Pipatti
  • Elizabeth Sofia Ruh
  • Daniel Parker Sablik
  • Erin Carol Scally
  • Richard Sparks Segal
  • Katherine Patricia Shea
  • Kevin Michael Smeaton
  • Jennifer Annette Smith
  • Le Phuong To
  • Sabrina Tiffany Urman
  • Aubrey James Wilkerson
  • Matthew Robert Zimpelman


  • Ashley Brooke Bunting
  • Kate Chapman Hogan
  • Josiah Curtis Jodrey
  • Robert Taylor Kratz
  • Jackson Connor Larkin
  • Benjamin James Makowski
  • Adam Brantley Stone
  • Alexander Church Waesche


  • Jessica Derr
  • Michael Elks
  • Shane Goodenough
  • Andrew Hadsell
  • Sara Johnson
  • Michael Kopczynski
  • Anthony Real
  • David Shuttleworth

Incoming BGS vice presidents for 2013-14:

  • Danielle White
  • Meghan Brindley

Outgoing BGS vice presidents for 2012-13:

  • Chelsea Helms
  • Brian Sharnsky

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International-The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. BGS membership provides the highest recognition a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.

Alyssa Baxter,
5/8/2013 11:45 AM