E-Net News

Mathematics and statistics students receive awards

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics held a dinner in Johnston Hall on April 29 to celebrate  its graduating seniors, scholarship donors and recipients, and award winners.

Award winners Alyse Keim, Chris Shill, Ali Miller, Ted Berkowitz.

Gerry Francis, executive vice president and professor of mathematics, was the keynote speaker.

The following students received awards:

Sandy Weiss - outstanding academic achievement in mathematics

Alyse Keim and Christopher Shill - outstanding research in mathematics

Theodore Berkowitz - outstanding academic achievement in statistics

Lauren DiFiglia - outstanding experiential learning in statistics

Alison Miller - outstanding research in statistics

Pi Mu Epsilon Members: First row: Erica Janik, Willem Prins, Maggie Macdonald, Alyse Keim, Madeline Edwards, Ali Miller. Second row: Lauren Johnson, Chris Shill, Nakhila Mistry, Andrew Fischer, Jill Padfield, Sandy Weiss.

The department held its Pi Mu Epsilon inductions at the dinner. Pi Mu Epsilon is the nation’s most prestigious mathematics honorary society, chartered at Elon University on Oct. 23, 2003. The purpose of the society is to promote scholarly activity in mathematics among the students in academic institutions.

The following students were inducted: Alison Deatsch, Katherine Easom, Madeline Edwards, Andrew Fischer, Erican Janik, Lauren Johnson, Alyse Keim, Alison Miller, Nakhila Mistry, Sarah Neuhauser, Thomas Price, Willem Prins, Chris Shil, Amy Wagoner and Justin Wanner. Faculty members inducted include: Chad Awtry, Ayesha Delpish, Gerry Francis, Laura Taylor and Karen Yokley. 

Helen Walton,
5/14/2013 1:00 PM