E-Net News

Elon Trustee Richard Thompson '64 honored by American Association of School Administrators

The Distinguished Service Award bestowed on Thompson recognizes the honor he brings to his profession, and his exemplary service to his state and professional association.

From left: Amy Sichel, president, AASA; Richard L. Thompson '64, executive director, NCCAT; Daniel A. Domenech, executive director, AASA.

Richard L. Thompson '64, interim executive director of the North Carolina Center for the Advancement of Teaching and a member of the Elon University Board of Trustees, was honored this month with the Distinguished Service Award from the American Association of School Administrators.

Thompson was one of three people recognized during a ceremony at the AASA’s Conference on Education in Nashville, Tenn. The trio was celebrated by AASA for bringing honor to themselves, their colleagues and their profession; rendering exemplary service to their state or national professional association; and contributing to the education field through writing, public advocacy or other activities.
Thompson has been serving as interim executive director of NCCAT since Sept. 1, 2013. NCCAT provides teachers with new knowledge, skills, teaching methods, best practices and information to take back to their classrooms through interdisciplinary, topic-specific programs for pre-kindergarten through 12th-grade teachers.

“The children of North Carolina have been the beneficiaries of this outstanding professional development program at NCCAT,” Thompson said. “I want to thank AASA for this honor and the important work the organization does on behalf of education.”
Thompson has had a distinguished career in public education for 45 years, highlighted by his time as a classroom teacher, coach, principal and superintendent. He also has served as the state superintendent of education in Mississippi, North Carolina deputy state superintendent, and was a vice president in the University of North Carolina General Administration. He served as the center’s director from 1992–94.
Other AASA Distinguished Service Award honorees for 2014 are:

- Benny L. Gooden who is the superintendent of schools in Fort Smith, Ark., a position he has held since 1986. He has served in public education for 48 years as a teacher, administrator and school superintendent.
- Dennis Ray, who has served in educational leadership roles in a career that spans five decades, including six school districts over a period of nearly 30 years.
AASA, The School Superintendents Association, founded in 1865, is the professional organization for more than 13,000 educational leaders in the United States and throughout the world. AASA’s mission is to support and develop effective school system leaders who are dedicated to the highest quality public education for all children.

Eric Townsend,
2/17/2014 2:35 PM