E-Net News

Beta Gamma Sigma inducts new members

Top business students were recently inducted into the international honor society Beta Gamma Sigma.

2014 Beta Gamma Sigma inductees
The Elon chapter of Beta Gamma Sigma inducted 54 members during an April 22 ceremony held in the LaRose Digital Theatre.

Beta Gamma Sigma is the international honor society serving business programs accredited by AACSB International-The Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business. BGS membership provides the highest recognition a baccalaureate or post-baccalaureate business student anywhere in the world can receive in a business program accredited by AACSB International.

The chapter honoree and keynote speaker was Donna DeMaio, CEO and president of United Guarantee Corp.

As CEO, DeMaio is responsible for the overall performance and strategic direction of United Guaranty, including both domestic and international operating groups. As COO, she oversaw United Guaranty's domestic and international sales, underwriting, and loss management, as well as domestic marketing, communications, and business analytics.


From left: BGS VP Meghan Brindley, BGS Professor of the Year Irana Scott, BGS VP Danielle White
2014 Beta Gamma Sigma Professor of the Year award was presented to Irana Scott, assistant professor of accounting. Current BGS members selected the recipient based on the following criteria: encourages and honors high academic achievement by students of business and management; fosters in students an enduring commitment to the founding principles and values of the Society: honor and integrity, pursuit of wisdom, and earnestness; and supports the advancement of business thought and practice to encourage lifelong learning. ​

Scott has seven years of teaching experience and more than 20 years of public and private accounting experience. Prior to joining Elon, she taught at Averett University, the University of Virginia's College at Wise, James Madison University and the University of Memphis. Before pursuing an academic career, she owned an accounting firm, worked as an audit staff member of a regional accounting firm, and was the controller of a company in the health services industry. 

Scott received her Ph.D. from the University of Memphis. Her research focuses on the detection of financial statement fraud. 

During the ceremony led by Raghu Tadepalli, dean of the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business and BGS chapter advisor, the inductees pledged to maintain and uphold the ideals and principles of BGS—honor, wisdom and earnestness.​

The 2014 inductees are:


Matthew Daniel Bausch
Quinn Peters Bower
Sydney N. Branson
Carly S. Davenport
Avery My Lien Ecker
Haley Anne Ghelfi
Adam Charles Gill
Krista Marie Hagler
Nicole Elizabeth Hanrahan
Michael Robert Keenan
Stephanie Therese Kilmer
Adam Michael Knaszak
Erin Diane Lanzotti
Robert Bruce Linklater
Jacqueline Marie Orr
Jessica Marie Petrillo
Connor Thomas Rice
Sara Elizabeth Rodgers
Amanda Alf Rolfes
Noah Wolfe Sakin
Vincent James Scozzari III
Christopher Thomas Shannon
Margot Ellen Shoemaker
Katherine Maria Skinner
Ella Morgan Smith
Christopher Jackson Allen Soloway
Ryan Joseph Struble
Cabriel Patrick Sullivan
Stephanie Grace Tizik
Curtis John Van Iseghem
Allison Christine Weiler


Astrid Anne Adriaens
John Edward Andonian
Jane L. Cone
Elizabeth Erin Desino
Drew Julian Forte
Maike Halamoda
Frida Margaretha Jansaker
Whittney Anne Levitt
Kathryn Paloma Perez
Alexandra C. Scovil
Junji Tsunomura
Florian Georg Wolf


Brian Schleicher Adam
Kathryn Elizabeth Ashby
Madhuker Balakrishnan
Miles Anthony Curro
Loren Johnson Dargan
Michael Thomas Farrington
Daniel Bradford Nash
Wayne Robert Price
Allison Wellemeyer Spencer
Emily Faircloth Sweitzer
Andre A. Valcour

Outgoing BGS vice presidents

Meghan Brindley
Danielle White

Incoming BGS vice president

Katherine Shea

Nicole Filippo,
4/23/2014 9:50 AM