E-Net News

Mathematics and statistics students receive awards

The Department of Mathematics and Statistics held a dinner in Johnston Hall on May 5 to celebrate its graduating seniors, scholarship donors and recipients and award winners.  

Pi Mu Epsilon officers and adviser from left to right: Chad Awtrey (adviser), Amy Wagoner (president), Nakhila Mistry (treasurer), Chris Shill (vice-president), and Eve Torrence (PME national president)

Eve Torrence, national president of Phi Mu Epsilon and professor of mathematics at Randolph-Macon College, was the keynote speaker at a dinner held May 5 to celebrate graduating seniors, scholarship donors and recipients and award winners.

The following students received awards:

  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in Mathematics: Andrew Fredrick Fischer and Christopher Ryan Shill
  • Outstanding Research Award in Mathematics: Nakhila Shani Mistry
  • Outstanding Academic Achievement Award in Statistics: Kimberly Carter Peterson and
  • Lisa Meglen Picklesimer
  • Outstanding Experiential Learning Award in Statistics: Amy Elizabeth Zemanick

The department held its Pi Mu Epsilon inductions at the dinner. Pi Mu Epsilon is the nation’s most prestigious mathematics honorary society, chartered at Elon University on Oct. 23, 2003. The purpose of the society is to promote scholarly activity in mathematics among the students in academic institutions.

The following students were inducted: Jaclyn Clarice DeVincent, Christine Dierk, Brianna Lorelle Duff, Jeremy Guinn, Kristen McCahill, Mackenzie Lynn McCraw, David McKenney, Chaun Michael Medeiros, Nicole E. Miles, Emily Need, Lisa Meglen Picklesimer, Erin Kelsey Strosnider, and Jessica Sarah Weed.

Helen Walton,
5/15/2014 4:45 PM