Elon alum to help steer National Football Foundation

Deborah A. Yow, director of athletics at the University of Maryland and a 1974 Elon graduate, is one of eight national leaders recently named to the board of directors for the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame. Details...

Deborah Yow during a September 2006 visit to Elon University.
According to a Sept. 27 news release from the University of Maryland, Yow joins Dallas Cowboys owner Jerry Jones, New England Patriots owner Robert Craft, businessman Michael Moe, Under Armour chairman and CEO Kevin Plank, former Texas Secretary of State Roger Williams, Big Ten Commissioner Jim Delany and SEC Commissioner Mike Slive on the national panel.

Founded in 1947 with leadership and support from Gen. Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army Coach Red Blaik and journalist Grantland Rice, the National Football Foundation serves as a leading voice in the promotion of amateur football and its ability to develop the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship, competitive zeal and the drive for academic achievement in America’s young people.

During Yow’s tenure at Maryland, the school has won 15 national championships, including an unprecedented six over the last two seasons, according to the university news release. She has overseen the growth of the department that now offers 27 intercollegiate sports and provides a positive experience for more than 700 student-athletes.

“I’m honored to be asked to join the board and look forward to serving in this role,” said Yow, now in her 14th season as director of athletics at Maryland.

Her efforts recently helped win Maryland Athletics a PRISM Award as the best-managed intercollegiate athletics program in the nation. Yow, a former president of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics, has also served on the NCAA Management Council, the NCAA Division I Budget Committee and has become one of the strongest and most consistent voices on behalf of intercollegiate athletics in America.