RTNDAC honors Elon University students

Elon University students were multiple award winners at the annual Radio-Television News Directors Association of the Carolinas fall banquet. Meredith Gulley took first place for WSOE news for Best Radio Newscast. Mitch Pittman and Sam Gyllenhaal shared a first-place award for Best Student Sportscast.


Kline receives his scholarship award.
ver awards went to Kirsten Bennett for Best Student News Story and to the entire Phoenix14News staff for Best Student Newscast. The award winning show was produced by Leigh Lesniak and Kevin Kline.

Also honored at the luncheon was Kevin Kline, named the recipient of the Dr. John R. Bittner Scholarship. This is the first time in the history of the scholarship that an Elon student has won the award. Organizers said this was the most competitive scholarship competition that they have seen.

“I am incredibly proud of Kevin. And I am incredibly proud of all of our student journalists,” said assistant professor of communications Rich Landesberg. “They work hard and they succeed in serving the public interest. It is terrific when professional organizations recognize this. They share in all these awards along with their long-time adviser Linda Lashendock.”

The Radio-Television News Directors Association and the RTNDA of the Carolinas are the professional organizations of electronic journalists, from news directors to reporters, producers and managers. The association is dedicated to setting high standards for newsgathering and reporting.

Attending the banquet were Gulley, Pittman, Bennett, Lesniak, Kline, Landesberg and Elon RTNDA student chapter president, Mackenzie Ames. At the RTNDAC board meeting the night before, members appointed Landesberg the new executive administrator of RTNDAC.

From left, Landesberg, Lesniak, Gulley, Kline, Pittman, Bennett and Ames