2009 Intramural Moot Court champions announced

At the Second Annual Elon Law Intramural Moot Court Competition, held November 2-5, twenty law students earned an invitation to join the law school's Moot Court Board. Jason Burton and Parker Moore were the competition champions, winning a competitive final round.

From left, Jason Burton, Parker Moore, Judge Sam Ervin, NC Court of Appeals, Judge Ben Tennille, NC Business Court, Tiffany Atkins and Jessica Yanez.

The final round was judged by Judge Sam Ervin of the North Carolina Court of Appeals, Judge Ben Tennille, Chief Judge of the North Carolina Business Court, and Elon Law Associate Dean Alan Woodlief.

Tiffany Atkins and Jessica Yanez were the first-runner up team in the competition. Semi-finalists included Joshua Smith, Amanda Tauber, Meredith Thompson and Holly Wright.

Burton was awarded the Best Oralist award in the final round. Tauber won that award for preliminary rounds. Tauber and Thompson won the tournament’s Best Brief award.

The top 20 competitors, all second year students, were invited to join the Moot Court Board. They are as follows:

Meredith Thompson and Amanda Tauber

Tiffany Atkins, Jason Burton, Anthony Copple, Lenneka Feliciano, Brendan Garcia, Matthew Groves, Jennifer Hoverstad, Matthew Krueger-Andes, Rachel Miller, Parker Moore, Whitney Parrish, Jeremy Ray, Grant Sigmon, Joshua Smith, Nathan Standley, Amanda Tauber, Meredith Thompson, Matthew White, Holly Wright, and Jessica Yanez.

Students participating in the competition litigated an appeal of a conviction of first degree murder before the Utah Supreme Court. The problem dealt with Rules of Evidence issues regarding the introduction of photographs and prior bad acts evidence at the murder trial.

Third year law students serving on the tournament’s competition committee included William Warihay, who chaired the committee, Sarah Neely, Rachael Dimont, Jamie Duncan, Lauren Jeffries, and Maggy Vaughn. Other members of this year’s Moot Court Board graded briefs and served as bailiffs for the competition.

Jason Burton at the 2009 Elon Law Intramural Moot Court Competition, with team member Parker Moore

The Moot Court Board and the law school recognized the following attorneys for serving as judges in the tournament:

Stephanie Anderson, Burton & Sue, LLP
Charlene Armstrong, The Law Office of Charlene Y. Armstrong, PLLC
Deborah Bowers, Pinto Coates Kyre & Brown, PLLC
Daniel Bullard, Walker & Bullard, PA
Walter Burton, Burton & Sue, LLP
Jeffrey Davis, Higgins Benjamin Eagles & Adams, PLLC
Art DeBaugh, Moore & Van Allen, PLLC
Ken Doss, Professional Mediation, LLC
John Flynn, Carruthers & Roth, PA
Brian Freedman, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Jennifer Greig, Elon University School of Law
Andrew Haile, Elon University School of Law
Fred Hamlet, Attorney at Law
David Levine, Elon University School of Law
Kathleen McLeod, Associate Dean, Elon University School of Law
Barbara Morgenstern, Barbara R. Morgenstern, PLLC
Judge Bill Neely, Retired Chief District Court Judge
Tom Noble, Elon University School of Law
Susan O’Hale, Attorney at Law
Jeffrey Peraldo, Attorney at Law
James Roane, Roane Law
Sarah Roane, Ogletree, Deakins, Nash, Smoak & Stewart, P.C.
Kenny Rotenstreich, Teague, Rotenstreich, Stanaland, Fox, & Holt, PLLC
Kevin Rust, Carruthers & Roth, PA
Richard Shope, Richard I. Shope Attorneys at Law, PA
Stan Speckhard, Alexander Ralston Speckhard & Speckhard
Lawrence Stoehr, Azzuri Strategies, LLC
Jeri Whitfield, Smith Moore Leatherwood LLP
Brady Ynetma, Pinto Coates Kyre & Brown, PLLC

Elon Law Alumni
Jonathan Aust, L’09
J. Aaron Bennett, L’09, Carruthers & Roth, PA
Melanie Crenshaw, L ’09, Barbara R. Morgenstern, PLLC
Erika Leigh Hamby, L’09, Tatum & Atkinson, PLLC
Chad Hinton, L’09, Chad Hinton Law
Kerri Sigler, L’09, Ward Black Law
Megan Silver, L’09, Higgins Benjamin Eagles & Adams, PLLC
Barron Thompson, L’09, Smith, Alexander & Morgan, LLP

Click here to read more about Elon Law’s Moot Court Board, including a list of its members from the Class of 2010.