Junior Broadcast Major Wins $5,000 Scholarship from BEA

Junior broadcast journalism major Drew Smith won the Alexander M. Tanger Scholarship from the Broadcast Education Association Nov. 24. The scholarship amount totals $5,000.

Drew Smith

Smith currently serves as the news director at Phoenix14News, Elon University’s weekly student newscast. He has also been a reporter and anchor for the program. Smith’s scholarship is the largest an Elon student has won from BEA, and it comes a year after broadcast majors Shea Northcut and Laura Ward won a Harold Fellows Scholarship from BEA.

Smith helped lead Phoenix14News to a first-place nationwide finish in last year’s BEA competition. He has also served as a summer editor for The Pendulum, Elon’s weekly student newspaper, and he recently returned from the Internet Governance Forum in Sharm El Sheikh, Egypt, where he conducted Internet research with other students, faculty and staff members.

Related Articles