Elon Law students recognized for pro bono service 

At Elon Law’s April Reception with the Legal Community, 43 students were recognized for significant pro bono and community service, including third-year law student Kaitlin Shimansky who was recognized for contributing the most pro bono hours while at Elon with 445 hours logged. 

Second-year law student Christian Robin and first-year student Emily Pfeiffer were recognized for logging the most pro bono hours for the Classes of 2014 and 2015 respectively.

Three third-year law students were recognized for exceptional service in the law school’s clinics:

  • Colleen Forcina won the Exceptional Service to the Wills Draft Clinic Award,
  • Jessica Kondziola won the Exceptional Service to the Elder Law Clinic Award, and
  • Elisabeth Linka won the Exceptional Service to the Humanitarian Immigration Law Clinic Award.

The North Carolina Bar Association, represented at Elon’s reception by NCBA President-Elect Alan Duncan, recognized the following third-year students for contributing more than 75 hours of pro bono service throughout their time in law school:

  • Sarah Boshears
  • Grant Buckner
  • Sherea Burnett
  • Ben Crissman
  • Will Drath
  • Sally Duncan
  • Paul Elledge
  • Shoshana Fried
  • Charles Gaylor
  • Dustin Gill
  • Karima Grady
  • Daniel Harris
  • Stephen Hegedus
  • Kristi Hollar
  • Erika Hunter
  • Drew Jones
  • Michael Koeltzow
  • Christopher Lane
  • Gwendolyn Lewis
  • Liz Linka
  • Kathryn Maultsby
  • Jenifer McCrea
  • Dee Menzer
  • Erin Milligan
  • Jason Senges
  • Natalie Shave
  • Kate Shimansky
  • Nicholas Spivey

The 28 students recognized above represent 23 percent of the Class of 2013. Combined, they reported 7,082 hours of pro bono service while at Elon Law.

In addition, the student-led Pro Bono Board at Elon Law recognized the following members of the Class of 2014 for completing more than 75 hours of pro bono service:

  • Molly Barns
  • Kate Bostrom
  • Caitlin Cutchin
  • Kristen DelForge
  • Mallory Horne
  • Tony Huynh
  • David Lambert
  • Brittany Long
  • Brenna Ragghianti
  • Christian Robin
  • Monique Smart
  • Patrick Ward

The Pro Bono Board is a stand-alone, student-run organization that was established in the fall of 2011 to support pro bono initiatives and to encourage active participation in pro bono activities at Elon Law. The Pro Bono Board consists of law students Molly Barnes, Daniel Dziuban, Devon Johnson, Jack Parker, Alex Rogers and Rebecca Schumm.