Employees honored at Staff Appreciation Day

Six staff members received awards for their work on May 31, 2013, in a McCrary Theatre program.

From left: Dwight Davis, Paul Holt and Judy Dulberg
Six Elon University employees were honored May 31 for their contributions to the university in an annual awards program attended by hundreds of staff in McCrary Theatre.

Paul Holt was named Physical Plant Staff Member of the Year, Dwight Davis was named Office Staff Member of the Year and Judy Dulberg was named Administrative Staff Member of the Year.

Holt is the university’s maintenance control manager. Davis is the late night building monitor and computer support specialist in Belk Library. Dulberg is program coordinator for the MBA program in the Martha and Spencer Love School of Business.

Three staff awards also recognized outstanding contributions from staff members.

The Phoenix Rising Award is presented to one newer member of the Elon staff who has consistently displayed excellence in pursuit of the Elon Commitment with an engaged mind, inspired leadership and global citizenship. The award went to Durice White, assistant director of alumni engagement.

From left: Lynne Bisko, Durice White and Tammy Cobb
The Phoenix Community Engagement Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has demonstrated exemplary service to the university, local or global community through his or her engagement in volunteer organizations. The award went to Tammy Cobb, assistant director for community partnerships in the Kernodle Center for Service Learning and Community Engagement.

The Phoenix Innovation Award is presented to a member of the Elon staff who has displayed innovation by creating, designing, improving or implementing a new idea or program that benefits the university or our community. The award went to Lynne Bisko, a nonprint librarian in Belk Library who spearheaded the university’s Personal Librarian Program.

Elon President Leo M. Lambert presented the awards to each recipient.

The 2013 staff day program included remarks nationally acclaimed guest speaker Steve Gilliand, who used humor and personal stories to talk about keys to success, leadership and “enjoying the ride” of life.

Four staff members were recognized for their retirements from the university – Marilyn Collins, Rosa Degraffenridt, Claristine Lockett and Lillie Mae Slade.