Elon Law Faculty Development Lecture Series supports scholarly inquiry

Elon was pleased to welcome nine accomplished law professors to present scholarly works-in-progress during the 2012-‘13 academic year, on subjects ranging from transnational anti-corruption laws to tax law to the intersection of art, commercial speech and trademark law.

Elon Law Professor David S. Levine, chair of Elon Law’s faculty development committee, described the value of the lecture series.

“The exchange of insights and ideas between Elon Law scholars and faculty from other law schools is invaluable, not only for advancing our faculty’s scholarship agendas, but also to inform our teaching by keeping us attuned to current issues in a variety of substantive areas of law,” Levine said. “Of course, the visiting faculty also seek feedback on their drafts. As one visiting scholar from a few years ago put it, ‘The highest compliment to me is hard questions,’ and by that measurement, Elon had a great year.”

Speakers in the 2012-‘13 Elon Law Faculty Development Lecture Series included:

  • Ann Bartow, Professor of Law at Pace Law School;
  • Eric Chaffee, Professor of Law, Director of Faculty Research and Chair of the Project for Law & Business Ethics at the University of Dayton School of Law;
  • Paul Finkelman, Visiting Professor of Law at Duke University School of Law in 2012-‘13 and the President William McKinley Distinguished Professor of Law and Public Policy and Senior Fellow at the Government Law Center at Albany Law School;
  • Woodrow Hartzog, Assistant Professor of Law at the Cumberland School of Law, Samford University;
  • Peter Joy, Henry Hitchcock Professor of Law and Director of the Criminal Justice Clinic at Washington University Law School;
  • Sonia Katyal, Joseph M. McLaughlin Professor of Law at Fordham University School of Law;
  • Elizabeth King, Visiting Assistant Professor of Law at Wake Forest University School of Law;
  • John Knechtle, Professor of Law and Director of International Programs at Florida Coastal School of Law;
  • Edward Zelinsky, Morris and Annie Trachman Professor of Law at the Benjamin N. Cardozo School of Law.

In addition to the lecture series, the faculty development committee at Elon law organizes internal works-in-progress talks throughout the academic year, scholarship exchanges with other law schools and other formal and informal efforts aimed at supporting the scholarship endeavors of Elon Law faculty.  A new slate of visiting scholars will be presenting their works-in-progress beginning in September.