Dean’s Reception honors the Class of 2014

Members of the Class of 2014 at Elon Law welcomed family members and friends to the law school on May 23 to celebrate achievements of the class on the eve of commencement ceremonies.

Joined by the faculty and administration of the law school, members of the class were recognized for pro bono service and excellence in academic achievement, scholarship and advocacy.

In welcoming remarks, law school dean George R. Johnson, Jr. expressed appreciation to those who have supported members of the class through their three years of law study.

“It has been a wonderful journey,” Johnson said. “We are excited for you because you have participated in this journey, you have supported them, you have invested in them and now it’s the opportunity to reap the rewards of all of their hard work and all of the hard work that you have done. We appreciate your sharing your family and loved ones with us over the course of the last three years, but they will always remain part of the Elon family and part of the Elon community.”


Alexis Martinez-Fedrizzi, assistant dean for student affairs, presented the following awards to individual members of the Class of 2014:

Kristen Lee DelForge received the North Carolina Advocates for Justice Student Advocacy award, recognizing a graduating student for demonstrated commitment to public service and excellence in trial and/or appellate advocacy skills.

Brenna Maria Raghianti received the ALI-CLE Award, recognizing a graduate who best represents a combination of scholarship and leadership, the qualities embodied by the parent organizations, the American Law institute and the American Bar Association. Raghianti also received the International Academy of Trial Lawyers Award for demonstrating an overall ability in trial advocacy by high achievement in trial practice and evidence, as well as in pleading and procedure courses.

Laura Byrd Luffman received the Clinical Legal Education Association’s Outstanding Student Award for excellence in the field determined by representing clients; excellence in student’s course work and exploring the legal, ethical, strategic and pertinent issues raised; as well as the students’ contribution to the clinical community.

The following students were recognized as inaugural Dean’s Fellows at Elon Law. Dean’s Fellows are upper level students selected for their academic achievement, commitment to the Elon Law community, aptitude for expert learning strategies and interest in education. They mentor first-year law students and facilitate implementation of the law school’s academic support curriculum. The inaugural group of Dean’s Fellows at Elon Law includes: John Evans, Kristen Del Forge, Justin Grill, Adam Hall, Laura Hill, Mallory Horne, Caroline Johnson, Katie Koone, Eugene Lindley, Payton Mansure, Madeline Obler-Grill and Merill Ward.

Mallory Horne received the Distinguished Service Award, established by the faculty of the law school to recognize “service to the law school through engagement in and contribution to the life of the school and demonstrated commitment to its mission.”

Laura Elizabeth Hill received the Marshall-Thompson Award for Outstanding Achievement in Constitutional Law Studies, an award created by Barron Thompson L’09, providing the recipient with a stipend in recognition of excellence in the study of Constitutional Law.

Caitlin Basile Cutchin received the National Association of Women Lawyers Recognition for academic achievement, motivation, tenacity and drive and for recognized potential to contribute to the advancement of women in the society.

The following students received North Carolina Bar Association Pro bono Recognition Awards for providing at least 75 hours of pro bono legal service in the community: Vanessa Benavidez. Jennifer Anne Bobowski. Kate Lynn Bostrom. Caitlin Basile Cutchin, Kristen Lee DelForge, Daniel Robert Dziuban, Molly Jo Harris, Suzanne M. Haynes, Ross Spencer Holland, Mallory Gilliam Horne, Tony Pham Huynh, Rachel Jeanes, Caroline Mary Johnson, Katherine Ruth Koone, David Austin Lambert, LeeAnne Nikole Lawrence, Brittany Erin Long, Peyton Daniel Mansure, Pedro Jose Mantilla, William Edward Mitchell, Jr., Brian Yoon Park, Brenna Marie Ragghianti, Andrew Davidson Realon, Kristen Michelle Redman, Christian Matthew Robin, Monique Elizabeth Smart, Rachel Margaret Spears, Patrick David Ward, Porsha Larhea Washington and Erica Weatherford.

Molly Jo Harris received the North Carolina State Bar Student Pro bono Award, recognizing the public service rendered by one law student at each North Carolina Law School and presented annually at the October meeting of the North Carolina State Bar.

The following students were inducted into the Elon Law Chapter of The Order of Barristers in recognition for achievement in moot court and mock trial activities: Kristen Lee DelForge, Mallory Gilliam Horne, Benjamin Alexander Kempton, David Austin Lambert, Peter Ryburn Lamm, Ryan Daniel Moffitt, Anna Elizabeth Murphy, Christian Matthew Robin and Patrick David Ward.


Class Gift Committee co-chairs Kelsey Roth and Tom Prendergast announced that the gift of the Class of 2014 was coffee bar installed in the law school library with a built in coffee machine and funded coffee for students during finals.

“We had the honor of serving as co-chairs for the class gift this year and we wanted to say thank you to everyone for your generous support in making our class gift possible,” Roth said. “We were able to raise over $5,000, all of which went to the class gift, so thank you all very much.”

Select the following links to view slideshows from the Dean’s Reception for the Class of 2014 and the Elon Law Alumni Association’s Welcome Reception for the Class of 2014.


Additional Media