School of Education welcomes new teaching candidates

The School of Education held its Teacher Education Induction Ceremony on Tuesday, October 7 at 4:15 pm in McKinnon Hall section F.  

Deborah Long, interim dean of the School of Education, welcomed the inductees and introduced the faculty and staff. Long also led the new candidates in an activity to explain the conceptual framework. Taylor McKee ’12, a 3rd grade Elementary Ed teacher at Hillcrest Elementary School in Burlington, N.C. spoke to the candidates about what it takes to be a teacher. Richard Mihans, Education Department chair had the honor of reading the names while Laura Williams, director of the Curriculum Resource Center shook their hands and presented them with a special commemorative pin. A reception immediately followed the event. Below is a list of the teacher candidates who were inducted:


Ashley Abrams            

Melina Accarpio

Ashleigh Alexander

Nicole Ammerman

Abigail Bridge

Shirley Buono

Jamie Buren

Samuel Carrigan

Taylor Cesarski

Katherine Clark

Margaret Dunphy

Kelly Fawcett

Emily Franks

Taryn Gaffney

Rachel Gledhill

Robert Harper

Amy Heaton

Caroline Hoffman

Holly Holsopple

Kelsey Johnson

Maeve Kenney

Alyssa Lucas

Emma Luparello

Madeline Lynch

Daniel Martin

Elizabeth Meynardie

Jessica Mohr

Victoria Murphy

Erin O’Leary

Abigail Peel

Brittany Rathvon

Kelly Richard

Grace Robertson

Sydney Ryals

Kelly Schimmel

Amanda Shoenfelt

Jacqueline Spencer

Molly Sweeney

Isabelle Thibault

Megan Weissman

Dana Willson

Hannah Wilpon