Three Elon Golfers Claim WGCA All-American Scholar Honors

Juniors Emily Brooks and Sunna Vidisdottir and freshman Hilda Kristjansdottir are the latest Phoenix to be recognized by the Women's Golf Coaches Association.


Emily Brooks
For the sixth consecutive year, the Elon women’s golf program has had multiple players earn WGCA All-American Scholar honors. Earning accolades in 2015 were juniors Emily Brooks and Sunna Vidisdottir along with freshman Hilda Kristjansdottir. Both Brooks and Vidisdottir are three-time selections.

This team is presented by the Women’s Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) which was formerly known as the National Golf Coaches Association (NGCA). This year, the WGCA recognized a total of 758 women’s golfers from the Division I, II and III ranks.

The criteria for selection to the All-American Scholar Team are some of the most stringent in all of college athletics. The minimum cumulative GPA is 3.50.

Brooks, who hails from Chapel Hill, N.C., sports a 3.73 GPA and is majoring in media arts and entertainment.  

On the links, Brooks played in all 27 of the Phoenix’s rounds, averaging a 76.33. Total, Brooks posted three top-10 finishes during her junior campaign. She placed sixth at the Forest Oaks  Fall Classic where she shot a four-over par 220. Brooks also tied for sixth at the FGCU Eagle Invite and tied for ninth at the season-opening W&M Invitational.

With a GPA of 3.97, Vidisdottir is majoring in finance and statistics.

Sunna Vidisdottir
Vidisdottir, who is a native of Reykajavik, Iceland, averaged a 75.96 over her 27 rounds in 2014-15. She posted two top-10 finishes, including a season-best third-place standing at the FGCU Eagle Invite. Thanks to an even-par 216, Vidisdottir tied for 11th at the Edwin Watts/Kiawah Island Spring Classic where she posted a final round mark of 69.

Kristjansdottir, who is from Kopavogur, Iceland, is undecided upon a major.

In her first season of collegiate golf, Kristjansdottir played in 18 rounds, averaging an 80.56. Her top showing was a tie for 26th at the CAA Championship.

The Women’s Golf Coaches Association, formerly known as the National Golf Coaches Association, began in 1983 as an organization to promote participation in women’s collegiate golf. The vision of the WGCA since its inception has been to encourage the playing of intercollegiate golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition.

Elon’s All-Time WGCA/NGCA All-American Scholars
2000 – Beth Frace
2001 – Beth Frace
2002 – Laura Orlen
2002 – Katherine Knoepffler
2003 – Katherine Knoepffler
2006 – Kelly Baytos
2006 – Kristin Tremoulis
2008 – Kelsey Johnson
2010 – Kelsey Johnson
2010 – Tara McFadden
2011 – Virginia Mayer
2011 – Tara McFadden
2011 – Martyna Mierzwa
2012 – Diana Davis
2012 – Virginia Mayer
2013 – Emily Brooks
2013 – Kathryn Buckingham
2013 – Martyna Mierzwa
2013 – Sunna Vidisdottir
2014 – Emily Brooks
2014 – Kathryn Buckingham
2014 – Sunna Vidisdottir
2015 – Emily Brooks
2015 – Hilda Kristjansdottir
2015 – Sunna Vidisdottir