Students honored at 2016 Leadership Awards ceremony

Elon University students and one staff member were recognized for their accomplishments at an April 28, 2016, program that highlights campus leaders.

A total 23 students and one staff member were recognized for their accomplishments during the annual Leadership Awards program sponsored by Omicron Delta Kappa.

Elon University celebrated the achievements of top student leaders on Thursday in Whitley Auditorium during an annual Leadership Awards program sponsored by Omicron Delta Kappa, a national leadership honor society.

Since 1977, ODK has recognized Elon students who exhibit high academic standards and outstanding leadership. Other core components include multicultural experience, athletics, campus and community service, social and religious activities, campus government, creative and performing arts and journalism, speech and mass media.

Exemplary achievement and service are also being recognized this spring during several individual school ceremonies.

Winners of the 2016 Leadership Awards include the following:

Student Communications Media AwardMichael Dennis Bodley
This award is presented to the student who has contributed the most to advance communications on campus during the current academic year.

Thomas Barnett “Breaking Down Barriers” Scholarship Award  Sophie Lauren Rupp
Thomas Barnett was an Honors Fellow and a Presidential Scholar in the Elon University Class of 2007. In his honor thesis, Thomas used digital art to raise awareness about issues on campus for students with disabilities. His parents, William and Paige Barnett, created this scholarship in Thomas’ memory to be awarded to an Elon undergraduate who successfully completes a high-quality project on a topic related to improving the university experience of students with disabilities.

Leadership Studies Award  Jenna Ann Nelson and Morgan Ann Drew
The Leadership Studies Award is awarded annually to the senior Leadership Studies minor who has best exemplified the study of leadership as an academic discipline through excellence in related coursework, research and/or other scholarly contributions.

Hilaire Pickett ’08 Leadership Grant  Tyson Atley Glover and Jennifer Yoriko Shojinaga Fukunaga
The Hilaire Pickett ’08 Leadership Grant is awarded to two junior or senior students in the Isabella Cannon Leadership Program to support the pursuit of leadership internships or legacy efforts.

The PERCS Outstanding Ethnography Award ​- Jennifer Lynne Osborne and Melina Teresa Oliverio
This award recognizes the student who has conducted the most outstanding ethnographic research project at Elon University, judged according to the quality of both the process and product. The award is given by PERCS: The Program for Ethnographic Research and Community Studies.

Martha Smith Award for Women’s, Gender, and Sexualities Studies – Claire Abbott Lockard
This award is given in honor of Martha Smith, one of the founding mothers of the women’s and gender studies program at Elon University, to recognize the achievements – both academic and activist in nature – of a graduating senior women’s, gender and sexualities studies minor.

Helen B. Rippy Art History Award Gia Carina Pineda
The Rippy scholarship was established by Dr. William B. Rippy ’43 in honor of his wife, Helen Blalock Rippy ’45. This award is given to an art history major with an above-average ­GPA in art history courses at Elon.

Edwina Graff Hughes Johnston Award in Art History – Hannah Marie Fernandes-Martin
Edwina Graff Johnston, a West Virginia native and William and Mary graduate, moved to Elon when she married Dr. James William Johnston ’43; their son Richard graduated from Elon in 1975. A talented pianist, Mrs. Johnston was also an artist, and her husband established a scholarship at Elon in her honor; the Department of Art and Art History presents a portion of this award to a rising senior art history major who has shown excellence in academic work and active participation in the art history program.

GlaxoSmithKline Women in Science Scholar Award – Bethany Victoria Lake and Kaitlyn E. Walsh
This scholarship is awarded by the North Carolina GlaxoSmithKline Foundation’s Women in Science Scholars Program to a rising sophomore or junior majoring in math or science. Under the program, scholarship recipients are paired with professional GlaxoSmithKline women who have excelled in various science-related fields and careers, and can provide guidance and shared experiences with the scholars.

W.L. Monroe Christian Education and Personality Award Kimberly Nicole Beale and Zachary Britt Fisher
Recipients of this award demonstrate citizenship and a strong desire to help others improve themselves. A trust created by the late W.L. Monroe Sr., who attended Elon in 1917, provides cash awards to the recipients. 

Truitt Center Reconciliation Award – 
Shahad Ayman Haswa
This award is presented to a student who best exemplifies the vision of Douglas G. Noiles and Edna Truitt Noiles ’__44, who endowed the program in the Vera Richardson Truitt Center for Religious and Spiritual Life “to enable Elon students to learn about their own and other faiths and to live lives of reconciliation.”

Ella Brunk Smith Award – Allison D. Ginsburg
In honor of Ella Brunk Smith, wife of former Elon President Dr. L.E. Smith, a cash award is presented to a female student in the senior class who has made significant contributions to the religious and moral life on campus.

Iris Holt McEwen Community Service Award – Allison Rose Nylen
This award is presented to a student whose service to Elon and the larger community exemplifies the generosity of spirit and dedication to philanthropy of Iris Holt McEwen.

Algernon Sydney Sullivan Award – Jacquelyn Elizabeth Lanphear, Douglas Phillip Spencer & Margie Pritchett Watkins (staff)
This award, given by the Algernon Sydney Sullivan Foundation, recognizes two students and one faculty or staff member who demonstrate fine spiritual qualities in their daily lives and relationships with peers.

Newman Civic Fellow Award – Kenneth Lamarr Brown
The Campus Compact Newman Civic Fellows Award is a national award that recognizes students who inspire and engage others through their work to provide long-term solutions for social issues in their communities. This award is made in honor of Dr. Frank Newman, one of Campus Compact’s founders, who was a tireless advocate for the role of higher education in preparing students for active and engaged citizenship.

John W. Barney Memorial Award – Sydney Nicole Branson
This award recognizes the senior(s) with the highest cumulative ­GPA. Colleagues, former students, and friends of the late John W. Barney established this award in his honor. Mr. Barney graduated from Elon in 1910 and was a member of the faculty for more than three decades.

William Moseley Brown Leadership Award – Noah Wolfe Sakin
Presented by Elon’s Circle of Omicron Delta Kappa, this award is given to the student who consistently demonstrates the highest ideals of ODK, including providing distinguished leadership to his or her peers. The award is named in honor of a former Elon faculty member who was one of the original founders of the national chapter of ODK.

Katharine duPont Weymouth Scholarship – Jack Martin Doyle
This scholarship is awarded to an outstanding student in the social sciences, given in honor of alumnus Frank Lyon, ’71.