Elon recognized with United Way's Pursuit of Excellence Award

The award from the United Way of Alamance County was offered in recognition of the university's dedication to the local community. 

Elon University faculty and staff recieved the Pursuit of Excellence Award from the United Way of Alamance County during the organization’s recent Spirit of Alamance celebration of community partners and programs.

From left, Jeff Stein, Brooke Barnett, Noah Sanders and Tammy Cobb, following the presentation of the Pursuit of Excellence Award at the recent Spirit of Alamance celebration
The United Way award was a recognition of the dedication of Elon student, faculty, and staff to the local community, particularly the generous philanthropy faculty and staff have demonstrated during the past three years.

Elon faculty and staff giving to United Way increased 13 percent during the past three years in support of the nonprofit’s mission to mobilize the county and advance the common good. This year alone, with the help of Elon faculty and staff, United Way supported 67,145 residents (which would fill Rhodes Stadium more than five times) and provided more than $1.3M to local agencies.

Chair of the United Way of Alamance Board of Directors Noah Sanders presented The Pursuit of Excellence Award to Elon’s Assistant Director for Community Partnerships and United Way Board member Tammy Cobb.

Elon’s United Way Campaign coordinators include Tammy Cobb, Kenn Gaither, Sylvia Muñoz, Jennifer Platania and Alexander Taylor, who work to increase awareness of the United Way mission and support for the organization’s three main priorities of improving education, health care, and economic development/job growth for the residents of Alamance County.