SGA swears in Class of 2025 senators, approves new student leaders

SGA, which recently had its second business meeting of the year, has its weekly meetings at 7:30 pm on Thursday in Moseley 215.

Elon Student Government Association’s second business meeting of the 2021-22 academic year began with the swearing-in of the class of 2025 Senators.

The newly elected class leaders are President Alexis Morrisey and Vice President Charlotte McCormick. Alexis Cooper, Bo Dalrymple and Robin Fallow were elected as senators.

Several senators were appointed to new positions. Students who will take on new roles with SGA for the following year are:  

  • Clare Rudolph, Class of 2025 Treasurer
  • Sydney Lisak, Class of 2025 Secretary
  • Dylan Kysela, Class of 2024 Secretary
  • Hannah Hansen, School of Education Senator
  • Tyra Duque, College of Arts and Sciences Senator
  • Boyd Burruss, College of Arts and Sciences Senator
  • Dani Fraioli, Campus Programs Senator
  • Jack Shepard, Campus Programs Senator
  • Rush Lacoste, Campus Programs Senator
  • Cole Meixsell, Professional Senator
  • Alli Barnett, Academic and Honors senator
  • Whitney McDonnell, Panhellenic Senator

All newly appointed senators passed with a 34-0 vote.

Representatives from the Healthy Elon committee visited the Senate to answer any COVID-19 related questions. The Healthy Elon committee is still monitoring the caseload and is updating restrictions based upon those numbers. There are currently no clusters and still a small percentage of positive tests on campus.

As for booster shot requirements, Elon will follow the CDC guidelines.

SGA President Jack Corby’s report began with the appointment of SGA Senator Chase Solomon to the chief of staff position in the president’s cabinet, with a vote of 40-0.

Corby also presented the updated Acorn Fund manual. The Acorn Fund is an SGA-funded grant and scholarship program for student-run businesses. Changes to the manual included an addition to the School of Health Science, an attendance structure for those on the board, a 10% disbursement fee and the ability for the Chair to add SGA funding if the interest of the fund fell below $5,000. The new Acorn fund manual passed with a vote of 39-0.

Under the treasurer’s report the Senate approved funding for the Elon Gospel Choir and Model UN.

The Secretary’s report was centered around the Homecoming packet. Homecoming Court application opens on PhoenixConnect Oct. 4 and will close on Oct. 26. Voting for Homecoming Royalty with take place from Nov. 2 until Nov. 5 on PhoenixConnect. Royalty will be crowned during halftime of the homecoming game.