Elon News Network earns top honors in SPJ competition

The student-run news organization was recognized widely in the Society of Professional Journalists Region 2 Mark of Excellence Awards, earning first place in nine categories.

Naomi Washington ’24 (left) and Clare Grant ’23 work together in the Elon News Network newsroom in McEwen Communications Building. Both Washington and Grant were among the students honored by the Society of Professional Journalists in the Region 2 Mark of Excellence competition. Photo by Erin Martin ’25, another SPJ honoree.

Several students at Elon News Network were named winners and finalists across multiple categories of the Society of Professional Journalists Region 2 Mark of Excellence Awards competition. The organization also took home the top organizational honors for the best newspaper and the best television newscast.

SPJ’s Region 2 comprises Delaware, District of Columbia, Maryland, North Carolina and Virginia. First-place winners will compete at the national level among other MOE winners from the 12 SPJ regions. National winners will be recognized at the Society of Professional Journalists national convention in Las Vegas, Sept. 28-30.

Elon News Network earned nine first-place awards:

In addition, several students were named finalists:

“Our staff at Elon News Network is comprised of some of the most talented and hardworking individuals, all of whom I am so proud to work with each day,” said Kyra O’Connor ’23, executive director of ENN and a winner in the feature writing category. “While we don’t do work to win awards, doing award-winning work shows off our staff’s commitment to news and the greater Elon community. I am so glad that so much of our work was recognized by SPJ.”

The student-run news organization is advised by Senior Lecturer Kelly Furnas and Associate Professor Rich Landesberg.