Annual Residence Life awards recognize exceptional student employees and staff

Student employees and staff were honored for their leadership, teamwork and creativity on May 3.

President Book giving opening remarks at the annual Residence Life Awards.
President Book giving opening remarks at the annual Residence Life Awards.

Exceptional student employees and staff members were recognized during the annual residence life awards on Wednesday, May 3.

The evening included opening remarks from President Connie Ledoux Book and Vice President of Student Life Jon Dooley.

Student Staff Member of the Year (by neighborhood)

Student Staff Member of the Year is awarded to at least one staff member from each residential neighborhood who has demonstrated excellent teamwork, dedication and positivity in their role.

Student Staff Member of the Year Recipients

  • Colonnades – Jasper Serenity Myers
  • Danieley – Angel Gutierrez
  • East – Lucia Gasalla Plaza
  • Global – Bethany Griffin
  • Historic – Larissa Moelber and James Seagriff
  • Loy – Wise Halverson
  • Oaks & Park Place – Ariana Wilson
  • Station at Mill Point & Crest – Megan Curling

NRHH Rising Diamond Award

This award recognizes a Residence Life staff member who shows us that leadership inside and outside the department is crucial to continued growth in the Elon University experience. The recipient of this award has demonstrated that their skill set learned here at Elon University has positively impacted their community and will continue to impact whatever community joined after positively. The official symbol of NRHH is a diamond –the world’s most precious gem- to signify the value and beauty one finds in their experiences.

  • Delyla Makki

Student Leadership and Community Development Award

This award highlights a student staff member who demonstrated extraordinary leadership in their role and promoted community development by challenging and caring for residents through their Elon experiences.

  • Cole Meixsell

Student Employee Excellence Award

This award highlights an hourly student employee who has displayed extraordinary dedication, leadership and service to their neighborhood and/or the Office of Residence Life. They consistently positively impact their neighborhood/office staff and community by going above and beyond what is asked in completing their work responsibilities.

  • Carson Pridgen

Julie Justice Faculty Engagement Award

In memoriam of Julie Justice’s depth of service and engagement with her residents during her time as a faculty-in-residence in the Oaks neighborhood, this award is meant to honor a faculty member who has contributed to enhancing the residential campus initiative by engaging with students within the residential community, and broadly developing connections within the neighborhood to enhance the student residential experience.

  • Sandy Marshall

Program of the Year

This award highlights a neighborhood program, event, or series that promotes active engagement of residents with faculty and staff over a topic that promotes the intellectual theme of the neighborhood.

  • Neighborhood: Danieley
  • Program Name: BJs in PJs

Program Assistant of the Year

This award honors a program assistant in Residence Life who utilizes exceptional organization, interpersonal, and customer service skills.

  • Mary Harding

Professional Staff Member of the Year (by position)

This award recognizes a professional staff member of the Residence Life team who has demonstrated mentorship, community building and professionalism throughout the 2022-2023 academic year.

  • Community Director – Tanner Gill
Community Partnership Award Recipients Mariann King and Antonella Tommasi with Chief LeMire and Sergeant Joel Thomas.
Community Partnership Award RecipientsMariann King and Antonella Tommasi with Chief LeMire and Sergeant Joel Thomas.

Community Partnership Award

The Community Partnership Award is presented to an individual who has continuously partnered and supported throughout the school year with Campus Safety and Police.

  • Mariann King
  • Antonella Tommasi