E-Net News

Phi Beta Kappa honor society inducts new members

An April 14 dinner and ceremony featured a keynote address by T. Mills Kelly, a professor of history at George Mason University and a specialist in the scholarship of teaching and learning history. 

Fifty-nine Elon University students were inducted into Phi Beta Kappa, the oldest and most prestigious honor society in the nation, during an April 14 dinner and ceremony where T. Mills Kelly, a professor of history at George Mason University and a specialist in the scholarship of teaching and learning history, served as keynote speaker.

Kelly's most recent book, "Teaching History in the Digital Age," was published by the University of Michigan Press in 2013. 

Phi Beta Kappa has established chapters at 283 colleges and universities in the United States, representing only 10 percent of the nation’s institutions of higher learning. Each year, the top 10 percent of arts and sciences graduates at these institutions are selected for membership. Elon’s Eta Chapter of North Carolina was installed on April 13, 2010.

Inducted during the April 14 ceremony were the following students:

  • Astrid Anne Adriaens
  • Kelsey Grace Ammondson
  • Elizabeth Grace Bargamian
  • Brett E. Barkley
  • Natalie Deirdre Beach
  • Casey Marie Brown
  • Natalie Emma Brubaker
  • Mary Elizabeth Burgoyne
  • Cameron Stuart Carothers
  • Laura Natalia Castro
  • Graham Dean Cochrane
  • Samantha Ann Coffer
  • Danielle Nicole Cooper
  • Caroline Elizabeth Crew
  • Taylor Anne Davis
  • Nathan J. Dean
  • Elizabeth Erin Desino
  • Alexa Rey Dixon
  • Erin Elizabeth Donahue
  • Alana Esther Dovner
  • Brianna Lorelle Duff
  • Caleigh Rebecca Erickson
  • Rachel Elizabeth Fishman
  • William Bricca Frauenfelder
  • Claire Elizabeth Fyvolent
  • Chelsea Thomas Gemme
  • Reed Stevenson Raphael Grimm
  • Emily Chandler Grizzard
  • Jordan MacKenzi Grover
  • Kyle Richard Groves
  • Bethany Lyn Houpt
  • Allison Phoebe Hren
  • Benjamin Charles Kaiser (junior)
  • Sophia Alexandra Koh
  • Margaret Anne Kuhlman
  • Thomas James Lampl
  • Mary Gardner Macdonald
  • Shannon Elizabeth Major
  • Heather Michelle McDonough-Caplan (junior)
  • Lainey Amilia McQuain
  • Elena Meskhidze (junior)
  • Rachel Leigh-Ann Miller
  • Madeline Denis Monaco
  • Julia Christine Phillips
  • Maria Elizabeth Restuccio
  • Ashley Parker Roth
  • Mary Alice Rouse
  • Erin Carol Scally
  • Lori Renee Schachle
  • Victoria Duncan Selover
  • Benjamin Charles Sherr
  • Jennifer Annette Smith
  • Marquessa Kate Smith-Lin
  • Kara Grace Soler-Sala
  • David Andrew Stewart
  • Kaitlin Rose Stober
  • Samuel Dalla Riva Toma
  • Kaylyn Davis Tousignant
  • Kaylyn Elizabeth Weller


Eric Townsend,
4/15/2015 10:20 AM