E-Net News

Communications students inducted into Lambda Pi Eta

Eighty-four new members were inducted into the Elon University School of Communications chapter of Lambda Pi Eta at a May 5 ceremony in McKinnon Hall.

Eighty-four Communications students were inducted into the Lambda Pi Eta honor society.

Adviser Frances Ward-Johnson introduced chapter president Anne Hellweg and her fellow officers Sean Glynn, Carolyn Beringer, Erin Culloty and Margaret Padilla. They led the new LPE students through the induction ritual.

Keynote speaker Glenn Scott, an associate professor in the School of Communications, told students to be and act sincere in the face of people they may encounter who are unsupportive. He encouraged them to accept themselves for who they are and work hard to be the best journalist or filmmaker or account executive or multimedia producer or fill-in-the-blank they can be.

At the end of the ceremony, the new LPE officers were announced. Elena Pipino will become president, and Dawn Peterson will serve as vice president. Jordan Scahill was named secretary, Brent Edwards will act as treasurer, Alison Schiffli will be the scholarship chair and Farley Fitzgerald will serve as event coordinator.

Senior broadcast journalism and international studies double major Tyler West was given the Senior Scholarship Award, which provides him with a $500 scholarship. As a student, West has shot and edited a documentary called “Parent-Teacher Parternships in Low-Income Schools” and an instructional series called “Go 4 College Intiative,” which will be distributed to high schools in Alamance County. “Go 4 College” won third place in the Broadcast Education Association Festival of Media Arts Instructional/Educational Category.

The Elon chapter of Lambda Pi Eta, an organization affiliated with the National Communication Association, got its start in 1998. Any School of Communications student is eligible for membership when he or she has completed at least 60 hours of university credit, with at least 12 of those hours in the School of Communications. Members must possess no less than a 3.0 overall GPA, and a GPA of at least 3.25 in the School of Communications.

The new inductees are:

Jacquelyn Adams
Stephanie Alvarez
Alexandra Ardinger
Kelly Autenrieth
Katherine Baer
Sara Baker
Michael Balderston
Lillian Bancroft
Kelly Bednarski
Amanda Bender
Rebecca Bergen
Blair Bernstein
Ian Boyd
Leigh Burgess
Natalie Butler
Samantha Calvert
Chelsea Caplan
Mariah Czap
Elizabeth Dean
Christine DeFina
Meghan Delaney
Olivia Dubendorf
Natalie Dupuis
Clinton Edmondson
Brent Edwards
Samantha Emrich
Daniel Enders
Christine Everett
Elizabeth Fitzgerald
Kristin Genszler
Clare Gibson
Colin Gilmore
Emily Glaze
Anne Goddard
Kristen Greene
Kara Griffin
Karen Grunwald
Albert Harris
Danielle Hatch
Carissa Hilliard
Jillian Hollis
Lindsay Humbert
Kristi Jacobsen
Taryn Johnson
Amanda Johnson
Alexandra Johnston
Melissa Kansky
Anna Kieler
Lauren Kolodrubetz
Grace Krafte
Lauren Krizay
Laura Levitt
Jerry Light
Stephen Lorenzo
Lucas Lovett
Katherine MacKinnon
Emily Martino
Kaitria McGill
Julia Miller
Aaron Moger
Hannah Nelson
Sophie Nielsen-Kolding
Gregory Orfe
Dawn Peterson
Elena Pipino
Christiana Quinn
Catherine Reynolds
Jordan Scahill
Alison Schiffli
Anna Simpson
Rebecca Smith
Rachel Southmayd
Jenna Strucko
Alexa Sykes
Ines Trice
Rachel Vierling
Anne Wallis
Melanie Walsh
Megan Wanner
Samuel Warren
Julia Weiss
Alexandra Weldon
Mary Yost

Colin Donohue,
5/5/2011 8:35 PM