E-Net News

President of national mathematics honor society visits Elon

Eve Torrence of Randolph-Macon College hosted an origami workshop and delivered remarks May 5, 2014 at the Department of Mathematics & Statistics annual dinner.


Pi Mu Epsilon's 2014 inductees
Elon University's chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, the national mathematics honor society, recently concluded its yearly activities by hosting society president Eve Torrence of Randolph-Macon College on May 5, 2014.  

Funded by a grant received by Elon's chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, Torrence's visit featured an origami workshop that day for a crowd of students, faculty and staff.  

Students Eric Goding '16, Ryan Seinerth '17, and Chris Shill '14 won prizes during the workshop for their solutions to origami puzzles that Torrence posed.

Torrence later delivered the parting address to the graduating seniors of the Department of Mathematics and Statistics during the department's annual celebration dinner.

Elon's chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon inducted 13 new members into its society at the dinner. New inductees are:

Prize winners from Eve Torrence's origami workshop.

Jaclyn DeVincent '16
Christine Dierk '14
Brianna Duff '15
Jeremy Guinn '14
Kristen McCahill '16
Mackenzie McCraw '14
David Mckenney '16
Chaun Michael Medeiros '15
Nicole Miles '15
Emily Need '14
Lisa Picklesimer '14
Erin Strosnider '14
Jessica Weed '16

Also at the dinner, Chris Shill '14 was awarded the Pi Mu Epsilon Research Award for outstanding dissemination of his mathematics research. Throughout his time at Elon, Shill gave nine professional presentations (two national, two invited) and submitted six papers for publication (one published, four accepted).

In the fall, Shill will begin his doctoral studies at UNC Chapel Hill.

Elon University Assistant Professor Chad Awtrey was recently elected to serve a three-year term as a councilor on the nine-member general council of Pi Mu Epsilon.

Chad Awtrey,
6/2/2014 9:30 AM