E-Net News

Sigma Phi Epsilon awarded for Organization of the Year

The North Carolina Mu chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon at Elon University was honored with the Student Organization of the Year Award during the 21st annual Organization Awards and Inauguration Ceremony.

From left to right, Coty Consic, Owen Gaffney and Jordon McRae. 

By Terrence McLaughlin ’17

The OAIC was hosted by the Elon Student Government Association on March 29. The OAIC presents an opportunity for SGA to recognize the dedication and hard work of student organizations and university programs. The OAIC also serves to recognize individual student leaders and faculty/staff members for exemplary service to their organization and the university community.

The Student Organization of the Year Award (Over 30 Members) is one of 13 awards presented at the OAIC. It recognizes an outstanding on-campus organization based on how they perform withthe following criteria: benefit to the university community, involvement on and off campus, prospective annual goals, and ability to connect with those who are unaffiliated with the organization.

SGA Executive President Kyle Porrod said this year’s selections committee “especially looked at how the organization was bettering itself while at the same time bettering Elon University and Elon town communities.”

Alongside the newly inaugurated SGA Executive Board, Porro presented the award to Elon sophomores, Owen Gaffney, Coty Consic and Jordon McRae on behalf of the chapter. Cosnic, vice president of the chapter, said he was thrilled to see the hard work associated with member development and mentorship recognized.

This is the second honor to be presented to the chapter in 2016. In early February, the chapter received the Donald C. McCleary Excellence in Member Development Award at the national fraternity’s annual Carlson Leadership Academy in Atlanta.

Elon’s chapter of Sigma Phi Epsilon was reinstated in 2007 and is currently comprised of 96 active brothers. The chapter has been continuously recognized for its commitment to academics, and for its engagement with members of the local community, on and off campus.

Roselee Papandrea Taylor,
4/4/2016 4:15 PM