Advisors / Advising Hours

HOW TO PREPARE FOR ADVISING MEETINGS:
Below are the members of the advisory committee.  Advising Hours and details of how to sign-up for, or walk-in, are below each advisors information. BEFORE you arrive to an advising appointment, please come prepared with:

  1. A DRAFT of your graduation plan of study (approximately which courses you plan to take when, include other experiences you hope to participate in as well - research, study abroad, internships, service, leadership). We understand this will become more developed the further in your Elon career you are - but it is a great place to start the conversation at any stage.
  2. Questions you want to talk to an advisor about

To help you prepare for your meeting we have lots of information on the health professions website (Pre-reqs by career; Gap and Summer Experiences; also look at major/minor checksheets; explore a few programs you are interested in)


Advisors


Caroline Ketcham, PhD - Associate Professor and Chair of Exercise Science - Chair        
Address: Koury Center (Athletics) 246
Phone: (336) 278-5807
Email: cketcham@elon.edu

Advising Hours:  Monday 2-4pm and Friday 9:30- 11:30am (email to sign up for appointment 24 hours in advance, or walk in)

Buffie Longmire-Avital, PhD - Assistant Professor of Psychology
Address: Psychology & Human Service Stu 125S
Phone: (336) 278-6527
Email: bavital@elon.edu

Advising Hours:  Office Hours

Joyce Davis, PhD - Professor of Exercise Science
Address: Koury Center (Athletics) 237
Phone: (336) 278-5873
Email: davisj@elon.edu

Advising Hours:  Friday 8:30 - 10am (e-mail to sign up for appointment at least 24 hours in advance)

Cindy Fair, PhD - Professor of Human Service Studies
Address: Psychology & Human Service Stu 131D
Phone:  (336) 278-6457
Email: cfair@elon.edu

Advising Hours:  Office Hours

Lauren Kearns, MFA - Associate Professor of Dance
Address: Center for the Arts 115
Phone: (336) 278-5592
Email: lkearns@elon.edu

Advising Hours:  Office Hours (on sabbatical Fall 2014)

Kathy Matera, PhD - Associate Professor of Chemistry
Address: McMichael Science Building 303
Phone: (336) 278-6226
Email: kmatera@elon.edu

Advising Hours: Wednesday 4 - 5pm, Thursday 4 - 5pm (e-mail to sign up for appointment at least 24 hours in advance)

Vickie Moore, PhD - Assistant Professor of Chemistry
Address: McMichael Science Building 311
Phone: (336) 278-6221
Email: vmoore3@elon.edu

Advising Hours:  Mondays 2:00 - 4:00pm (walk-in) or Fridays by appointment (e-mail to sign up for appointment at least 24 hours in advance)

Tonya Train, PhD - Assistant Professor of Biology
Address: McMichael Science Building 124F
Phone: (336) 278-6653
Email: ttrain@elon.edu

Advising Hours:  Office Hours

Robert Vick, PhD, Associate Professor of Biology
Address: 220E McMichael Science Center
Phone:(336) 278-6187
Email: vickrs@elon.edu

Advising Hours: Tuesday and Thursday 9:40 - 10:30am (walk-in); or other hours posted outside door

Student Professional Development Center Representative


Rene' Jackson, Career Advisor for Graduate Programs
Address: Moseley Center 140
Phone: (336) 278-6538
Email: rjackson11@elon.edu

Mrs. Jackson is available to meet with students by appointment for personal statements and resumes. In addition Mrs. Jackson or others in the SPDC office can help with career choices, internship experiences, etc.
 

Professional School Representatives


Bill Andrews, PT  EdD  NCS - Associate Professor of Physical Therapy Education
Address: Gerald L. Francis Center 100F
Phone: (336) 278-6351
Email: andrewsb@elon.edu

Dr. Andrews is faculty in DPT at Elon and is happy to advise pre-PT students about the career by appointment only (e-mail)

Cindy Bennett, MD - Assistant Professor of Physician Assistant Studies
Address: Gerald L. Francis Center 219
Phone: (336) 278-6856
Email: cbennett14@elon.edu

Dr. Bennett is faculty in PA Studies at Elon and is a Physician by training. She is happy to advise interested students about careers by appointment only (e-mail)