The Percussion Ensemble performs a wide range of contemporary music for percussion including works by Chavez, Beck, Benson, and Varese. Marimbas, gongs, hand drums, and timpani blend with shakers, rattles, bells, and cymbals to form an intriguing and exciting ensemble sound. During the spring semester, ensemble members are responsible for composing or arranging all of the music to be played. The ensemble is directed by Jon Metzger. Open by audition only.

Guest artists/clinicians who have appeared at Elon include: Sandy Blocker, Christopher Deane, Mark Ford, Massie Johnson, John Tafoya, Carol Stumpf, Jimmy Finnie, Bill Rice, Arnold Sykes, Cort McClaren, Nathan Daughtry, Danny Frye, Rick Dior, and John Hanks.