The Office of Leadership and Professional Development offers a variety programs and resources to help you succeed in your role and advance in your career.

Upcoming Professional Development Opportunities

All staff and faculty are invited to attend professional development programs. The following programs are sponsored/co-sponsored by the Office of Leadership and Professional Development (OLPD).

Campus Wide Programs Open to All Staff and Faculty

Joining Elon (for new employees)

Joining Elon is an orientation program offered by the Office of Leadership and Professional Development every six months for staff members who have been at the University for less than one year. This program is in addition to the New Hire Orientation program that is offered bimonthly by the office of Human Resources. This program introduces new staff to Elon’s mission and values and provides a foundation for understanding the various components that encompass and support an Elon education. You’ll hear from staff, faculty, and administrators on various topics including our strategic plan,  as well as gain a better understanding of student and academic life and learn about the Staff Advisory Council.

Learn more about Joining Elon.

Employee Resource Groups (ERGs)

Employee Resource Groups (ERGs) are employee led and initiated groups that focus on shared interests and experiences. If you don’t find the group for you, suggest your own!

Advocates for the Differently-Abled (ADAs)

The Elon Advocates for the Differently-Abled (The ADAs) serves as a resource network for its members and the broader campus as we promote greater access, equity and inclusivity for employees who navigate physical or mental impairments that substantially limit one or more major life activities, senses or cognition. With better dedicated resourcing and education, we hope that more employees will exercise their rights to the reasonable accommodations afforded to them under the law.

To learn more, contact Prudence Layne at playne@elon.edu, Tina Kissell at tkissell2@elon.edu, or Katie King at kingcath@elon.edu.

Amazing Admins ERG

The AMAZING ADMINS series, created for administrative professionals, provides working and networking opportunities in an environment focused on fellowship and friendship. Fellow admins, as well as special guests, speak on a variety of interesting topics and then open the floor for an enthusiastic Q & A. A buffet lunch is served for those who register. Please contact Joan Dawson jdawson9@elon.edu with any questions.

Looking for a Notary Public? Several members of the Amazing Admins ERG are certified to provide notary public services.

Black ERG

The Black Employee Resource Group (ERG) is an organization meant to provide an encouraging environment and career advancement opportunities for Elon University black employees and their affiliates. The group sponsors professional development, educational, and networking events for faculty & staff. The Black ERG is dedicated to attracting and retaining black professionals by building Elon’s brand as an employer of choice for the black professional community.

Vision: Serve, Advocacy, Preserve (History of Black History at Elon)

Mission:

  • Attract (Aid Human Resources and Elon University in the attracting and vetting of black identified faculty & staff)
  • Retain & Develop (Aid the university in the retention of black identified faculty and staff through cultural and social events that seek to further foster positive social climate and community building and engagement. Also aid in the professional development of black identified faculty and staff.)

To learn more please contact Aliana Harrison at aharrison3@elon.edu, or Wendy Bridges at wbridges@elon.edu.

Cultivating Emerging Professionals ERG

The Cultivating Emerging Professionals ERG is specifically geared towards employees who are new to Elon, young professionals (35 years and below), or have been employed at Elon for 5 years or less. The mission of this group is to help emerging professionals formulate personal and professional goals; create strategies to keep emerging professionals invested and driven within the community; provide tools and resources for self-advocacy within the workplace among supervisors and colleagues; and strengthening weaknesses, cultivating potential, and building confidence and professional esteem throughout the development of the emerging professional.

To learn more, contact at Rachael Rysz at rrysz@elon.edu, Caroline Fernandez at cfernandez3@elon.edu, Tim Hussey at thussey3@elon.edu, Connor O’Donnell at codonnell7@elon.edu, or Maria Papapietro at mpapapietro@elon.edu.

Hispanic/Latino ERG

The Hispanic/Latino ERG provides support and information to Hispanic/Latino employees at Elon about internal and external resources and opportunities. These may include Hispanic associations/professional groups that faculty and staff can belong to, interesting events on campus, grants, other funding opportunities, etc.

To learn more, contact Vanessa Bravo at vbravo@elon.edu or Keren Rivas at krivas@elon.edu.

LGBTQIA Employee Resource Group (ERG)

The LGBTQIA Employee Resource Group builds community across faculty and staff who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, queer, intersex, and asexual. Our monthly gatherings alternate between happy hour socials that build community and lunchtime meetings around LGBTQIA topics of interest that impact the personal and professional lives of Elon’s LGBTQIA faculty and staff.

For more information, please reach out to Jennifer Carroll at jcarroll16@elon.edu and Amanda Alberti at aalberti@elon.edu.

Mindfulness ERG

The Mindfulness ERG is for those faculty and staff who are interested in harnessing the power of mindfulness to improve self-regulation, enhance social relationships in the workplace, improve resilience in the face of challenges, increase task performance, and enhance their overall well-being.

To learn more please contact Jennifer Smith at jsmith41@elon.edu or Bob Martin at bmartin23@elon.edu.

Project Management ERG

The Project Management ERG brings together project managers of all skill levels to discuss best practices, trade experiences and advice, learn about tools, share templates, and discuss practical ways to overcome project management challenges at Elon. Whether you are an experienced project manager, brand new to the field, or somewhere in between, we invite you to join us in supporting each other and our goal to strengthen the project management culture across Elon.

Although the Project Management ERG meets monthly (in-person or virtual), collaboration outside of monthly meetings is encouraged and fostered. As a member, you’ll be given access to a shared workspace that includes templates, articles, and other resources contributed by the group.

To learn more, contact Claudia Sparks at csparks2@elon.edu or Sara Vanderpool at svanderpool@elon.edu.

Retirement Planning ERG

IT IS NEVER TOO EARLY TO START PLANNING FOR YOUR RETIREMENT! The Retirement ERG is open to all employees interested in learning more about retirement. This group focuses on all aspects of retirement planning. Topics include: when and how to take Social Security, Medicare, supplemental insurance, legal documents, taxes, finances, housing, and health/wellness, etc.

To learn more, please contact Debbie Perry at perryd@elon.edu or Betty Garrison at bgarrison@elon.edu.

 

Supervisors of Staff ERG

The Supervisor of Staff ERG collaborates to inform, resource, and create best practices in the area of supervision for employees. This group in open to Elon staff who supervise, or desire to supervise. Our monthly meetings include topics such as management, leadership, coaching, mentoring, professional development and much more.

To learn more, contact Scott Hildebrand at shildebrand@elon.edu, Meredith Smith at msmith82@elon.edu, Scott Stevens at sstevens@elon.edu, or Sherri Wolford at swolford@elon.edu.

Supervisors of Student Employees ERG

The Student Employee Supervisor ERG collaborates to inform, resource, and create best practices in the area of supervision for student employees. This group is open to Elon staff and faculty who supervise, or desire to supervise, student employees. Our monthly meetings include engaging topics such as recruiting, training, development, mentoring, design thinking, corrective action, and performance evaluations. Each meeting includes an introduction to the topic followed by facilitated table discussions around the room.

To learn more, contact Nancy Carpenter at ncarpenter4@elon.edu or Chris Sulva at csulva@elon.edu.

Women's Forum at Elon

The Women’s Forum at Elon ERG was created to serve as a resource for faculty and staff women addressing issues of importance such as professional development, mentoring, and empowerment.

The goals for this ERG include:

  1. To foster a supportive environment for women at Elon University
  2. To promote discussions and awareness around topics related to women’s lives
  3. To identify and support pathways for career advancement and professional development opportunities for women

To learn more, contact Shannon Lundeen at slundeen2@elon.edu or Brandy Propst at bpropst@elon.edu.

Explore Elon’s Employee Resource Groups (ERGs).

Individual Development Facilitation Coaching

Our office has partnered with certified coaches to offer confidential individual facilitation sessions for all employees. Be sure to take advantage of this opportunity to speak to a certified coach and experienced facilitator to shape your career at Elon and beyond.

Learn more about Individual Development Facilitation.

Monthly Programming

Each month, our office advertises a variety of workshops and professional development opportunities. Look for new events on our homepage and via facstaff emails.

Learn more about our Monthly Programming for all employees.

Professional Development Funding

Funds are available for staff who want to pursue their own professional development opportunities.

Learn more about Professional Development Funding.

Other Development Opportunities Around Campus

Personal and professional development opportunities are offered throughout campus. Whether you want to improve your health and fitness, sharpen your technology skills, or learn Spanish over lunch, there’s a lot of development opportunities for staff and faculty here at Elon.

Explore development opportunities offered by our University partners.