Employee Resource Groups (ERGs) are employee-led groups formed around common interests, and/or a shared bond or background. These groups are a powerful extension of our Office’s programming offerings, providing leadership opportunities for those who wish to participate in, initiate or lead a group and fostering a supportive community where all employees can experience a greater sense of belonging.

Current ERGs

Look for announcements over facstaff email for the latest ERG meetings. Otherwise, contact the people listed for more information.

Advocates for the Differently-Abled (ADAs)

The Elon Advocates for the Differently-Abled (The ADAs) serves as a resource network for its members and the broader campus as we promote greater access, equity and inclusivity for employees who navigate physical or mental impairments that substantially limit one or more major life activities, senses or cognition. With better dedicated resourcing and education, we hope that more employees will exercise their rights to the reasonable accommodations afforded to them under the law.

Amazing Admins ERG

The AMAZING ADMINS series, created for administrative professionals, provides working and networking opportunities in an environment focused on fellowship and friendship. Fellow admins, as well as special guests, speak on a variety of interesting topics and then open the floor for an enthusiastic Q & A. A buffet lunch is served for those who register. Please contact Joan Dawson jdawson9@elon.edu with any questions.

Looking for a Notary Public? Several members of the Amazing Admins ERG are certified to provide notary public services.

Black ERG

The Black Employee Resource Group (ERG) is an organization meant to provide an encouraging environment and career advancement opportunities for Elon University black employees and their affiliates. The group sponsors community and professional development, educational, and networking events for black faculty & staff. The Black ERG is dedicated to attracting and retaining black professionals by building strong networks and support for the black community.

Guiding Pillars:

  • Advocate
  • Develop
  • Preserve
  • Retain
  • Serve

The Black Employee Resource Group is excited to share a referral guide of businesses, companies, and vendors in our community recommended by black faculty and staff.

Link to the Black Employee Resource Group Referral Guide

Stay connected by joining the Black Employee Resource Group (BERG) at Elon University on Facebook. To learn more of if you have questions, please contact Aliana Harrison at aharrison3@elon.edu.

Cultivating Emerging Professionals ERG

The Cultivating Emerging Professionals ERG is specifically geared towards employees who are new to Elon, young professionals (35 years and below), or have been employed at Elon for 5 years or less. The mission of this group is to help emerging professionals formulate personal and professional goals; create strategies to keep emerging professionals invested and driven within the community; provide tools and resources for self-advocacy within the workplace among supervisors and colleagues; and strengthening weaknesses, cultivating potential, and building confidence and professional esteem throughout the development of the emerging professional.

To learn more, contact Megan Gregg at mgregg7@elon.edu.

Employees with Children ERG

This group is open to any staff or faculty that has one or more children of any age. Join us as we begin this community, talk about best ways to move forward, and support each other through this journey of parenthood.

To learn more, please contact Kristin Walker at kwalker19@elon.edu, Anita Bryant at abryant9@elon.edu, or Meg Fisher at mfisher9@elon.edu.

Hispanic/Latinx ERG

The Hispanic/Latinx ERG provides support and information to Hispanic/Latinx employees at Elon about internal and external resources and opportunities. These may include Hispanic associations/professional groups that faculty and staff can belong to, interesting events on campus, grants, other funding opportunities, etc.

To learn more, contact Vanessa Bravo at vbravo@elon.edu or Keren Rivas at krivas@elon.edu.

LGBTQIA Employee Resource Group (ERG)

The LGBTQIA Employee Resource Group builds community across faculty and staff who identify as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, questioning, queer, intersex, and asexual. Our monthly gatherings alternate between happy hour socials that build community and lunchtime meetings around LGBTQIA topics of interest that impact the personal and professional lives of Elon’s LGBTQIA faculty and staff.

For more information, please reach out to Luis Garay at lgaray@elon.edu, or Amanda Alberti at aalberti@elon.edu.

Mindfulness ERG

The Mindfulness ERG is for those faculty and staff who are interested in harnessing the power of mindfulness to improve self-regulation, enhance social relationships in the workplace, improve resilience in the face of challenges, increase task performance, and enhance their overall well-being.

To learn more please contact Jennifer Smith at jsmith41@elon.edu or Bob Martin at bmartin23@elon.edu.

Retirement Planning ERG

IT IS NEVER TOO EARLY TO START PLANNING FOR YOUR RETIREMENT! The Retirement ERG is open to all employees interested in learning more about retirement. This group focuses on all aspects of retirement planning. Topics include: when and how to take Social Security, Medicare, supplemental insurance, legal documents, taxes, finances, housing, and health/wellness, etc.

To learn more, please contact Betty Garrison at bgarrison@elon.edu.

 

Supervisors of Student Employees ERG

The Student Employee Supervisor ERG collaborates to inform, resource, and create best practices in the area of supervision for student employees. This group is open to Elon staff and faculty who supervise, or desire to supervise, student employees. Our monthly meetings include engaging topics such as recruiting, training, development, mentoring, design thinking, corrective action, and performance evaluations. Each meeting includes an introduction to the topic followed by facilitated table discussions around the room.

To learn more, contact Nancy Carpenter at ncarpenter4@elon.edu or Chris Sulva at csulva@elon.edu.

Women's Forum at Elon

The Women’s Forum at Elon ERG was created to serve as a resource for faculty and staff women addressing issues of importance such as professional development, mentoring, and empowerment.

The goals for this ERG include:

  1. To foster a supportive environment for women at Elon University
  2. To promote discussions and awareness around topics related to women’s lives
  3. To identify and support pathways for career advancement and professional development opportunities for women

To learn more, contact Shannon Lundeen at slundeen2@elon.edu or Brandy Propst at bpropst@elon.edu.

Initiating Your Own ERG

If your interests aren’t represented above and you’d like to start your own ERG, please let us know. Here are a few things to keep in mind:

  • Leadership: Each ERG should be co-led by at least two (preferably one staff and one faculty) members.
  • Time commitment: ERGs typically to meet for a minimum of six months, for one hour, one time per month.
  • Funding: Approved ERGs will receive $500 per year for supplies and meeting materials (e.g., lunch, books, speakers).

The Office of Leadership & Professional Development will coordinate the first meeting of each group by scheduling meeting space, sending a facstaff email announcing the meeting, and providing a buffet lunch. During that first meeting, attendees typically determine group goals, meeting dates/times, and future internal facilitators of the group. Following the first group, our office will continue to schedule the rooms and send the facstaff announcements. The management of the group however, will be the responsibility of the ERG members.

Interested? Email Ann Flaherty, Director of the Office of Leadership and Professional Development, at aflaherty2@elon.edu for more information.