Students claim Elon’s first College TV Award from Academy of Television Arts and Sciences

Elon students Joey Accordino, Christopher Bunn and Michael Heil were in California March 21 to accept the university's first College Television Award from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences Foundation.

The Elon Student Television show, “One on One Sports” took third place in the newscast category, with first and second place going to graduate students from University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and Northwestern University. The 30th Annual College Television Award Black Tie Gala was held at the Culver Studios in Culver City, California. The ceremony was hosted by “Dancing with the Stars’” Tom Bergeron.

Students engaged with numerous industry leaders, including Television Academy members and governors, academic leaders and the regional media. Accordino, Bunn and Heil participated in a College Awards panel discussion on March 22 in the Leonard H. Goldenson Theatre where they gained greater knowledge of editorial and production skills. Executives from Participant Media, the new Melrose Place, Panther PR and the William Morris Agency were all on hand to give advice and answer questions.

Several Elon students attended the black tie gala held at Culver Studios March 21.

During the panel discussion and screening, Debbie Slavkin, program manager of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation said, “…when asking a question and introducing themselves, they said they were sophomores! That’s so amazingly cool!”

ABC Eyewitness News entertainment reporter George Pennacchio hosted a screening of the winning pieces following the panel.

The outstanding student work gets exposure to the television industry, other students and faculty nationwide. Many of the winning pieces can be seen in their entirety can on line at, and

The Foundation was established in 1959 and is responsible for the Archive of American Television, as well as education programs such as the College Television Awards and its renowned student internship program. For more information on the Foundation, the Television Academy and its many industry-related programs, services and year-round Academy events, visit


(l-r) Michael Heil, Christopher Bunn, Joey Accordino

Additional Media