School of Communications honors outstanding students

The faculty, staff and administrators of Elon University's School of Communications hosted the school's annual student awards ceremony April 26.

Seventeen outstanding students were selected from among more than 1,000 communications majors to be honored for their outstanding contributions in and out of the classroom. Those honored meet the highest academic standards, have been active in on-campus media and student organizations and have achieved great success in challenging internships.

“We really do have great students, and congratulations to our outstanding seniors plus the returning students being honored with scholarships today,” said Communications Dean Paul Parsons. “What makes this even more special is, the student recipients have been selected for honor by the faculty – by the people in the best position to know who is really good.”

Outstanding Senior Awards

These six awards recognize outstanding personal and professional achievements by graduating seniors who have demonstrated through consistent performance extraordinary knowledge and ability in their areas of specialization, and have made significant contributions to the School of Communications and the major.

BARI SISSON, Sport and Event Management Award. Presented by Tony Weaver.
REBECCA SMITH, Journalism (Print/Online) Award. Presented by Anthony Hatcher.
LAURA LEVITT, Journalism (Broadcast) Award. Presented by Rich Landesberg.
SAMANTHA EMRICH, Strategic Communications Award. Presented by Lee Bush.
AARON MOGER, Broadcast & New Media Award. Presented by J McMerty.
DAN KOEHLER, Cinema Award. Presented by Brooke Barnett.

D’Angelo Family Scholarship in Honor of Bill Leonard

Established by Drs. Lawrence and Dolores D’Angelo (P ’02), the D’Angelo Family Scholarship in honor of Bill Leonard recognizes the achievements of an outstanding rising senior in the field of broadcast communication. The late Bill Leonard, former president of CBS News, was influential in the creation of “60 Minutes,” “CBS Sunday Morning” and a host of other landmark news programs. The recipient of this year’s D’Angelo Scholarship is SCARLETT FAKHAR. Presented by Rich Landesberg.

Dubois Legacy Scholarship

This endowed scholarship recognizes a junior or senior who demonstrates a consistent commitment to their course of study, and shows great promise through their participation in foreign study, internships, and holds great promise. The scholarship honors Courtney Dubois Needham ’95, and her family, Charles and Keith Dubois, for the many contributions they have made to Elon, and to the field of communications. The recipients of this year’s Dubois Legacy Scholarship are ARIEL MILLER and MARIA GEORGIADIS (not present). Presented by Lucinda Austin.

Anthony & Olga Duke Communications Scholarship

This scholarship is awarded to a student majoring in communications who has verified financial need and strong academic record. The recipient of the Anthony & Olga Duke Communications Scholarship is RACHEL AMATO (not present).

James F. Hurley Legacy Scholarship

This endowed scholarship is named in memory of James F. Hurley Sr. and James F. Hurley Jr. and in honor of James F. Hurley III. All three were influential as publishers of The Salisbury (N.C.) Post. The scholarship is awarded to a junior, with preference given to communications students with priority to journalism majors, and it carries through to the student’s senior year if the student remains at Elon for four years. This year’s recipient is JEFFREY STERN. Presented by Colin Donohue.

Sport & Event Management Scholarship
This scholarship is awarded to a student who exhibits great potential for professional success through a demonstrated record of academic achievement and contributions to departmental, institutional and/or community organizations. This year’s recipient is ERIC CARROLL. Presented by Tony Weaver.

Times-News Scholarship

This scholarship will provide financial aid for a participant in journalism at Elon University who has demonstrated leadership, scholarship, service to the community and exemplary character traits. This scholarship is awarded to MELISSA KANSKY and REBECCA IANNUCCI. Presented by Janna Anderson and Colin Donohue.

James Wesley Willard II Memorial Scholarship

This scholarship is named in memory of James Wesley Willard II, a student in the School of Communications, who died in 2005. It is awarded to a student in the school who has demonstrated a strong academic record. This year’s recipient is DAVID TREGDE. Presented by Nicole Triche.

The A.J. Fletcher Award

This award recognizes the achievements of an outstanding undergraduate corporate, broadcast or film major who reflects a wide-ranging interest within the field, has a GPA above 2.75, has demonstrated leadership in campus or personal life, and has been involved in some area of community service. This year’s recipients are ELIZABETH MOY and JAY LIGHT (not present). Presented by Kenn Gaither.